Tax Preparer (Female, Age 27) in Jamaica, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Tax Preparer in Jamaica, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTax Preparer
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationJamaica, NY
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small business with three empolyees. We have a website that offers to prepare the taxes of people for low fees. We have a online chat room to assist clients.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I assit with perparing taxes, answer the phones, check for errors on returns, efile returns, prepare mail that will be going out, assistin on online chat session, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am well under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like my job because I work mostly alone. The owner doesn’t come in until 1-2 pm everyday.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It is located in a home

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 1
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amJust got out of bed and ready for work
8am to 9amLeft for work
9am to 10amGo to work and checked emails
10am to 11amWent and did return that were submitted
11am to 12pmstill working on returns
12pm to 1pmstill doing returns
1pm to 2pmchecked emails and assist some clients that called in
2pm to 3pmtook a break and called my sister
3pm to 4pmwent back to returns
4pm to 5pmgot read to go home
5pm to 6pmleft for the day
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found it on the internet

What was the application process?
submitted a resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I had an interview with the business owner.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
If I knwo how to do taxes, if I knew the computer well and if I had experience in customer services.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes he is a great guy

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I always taught myself things. I just read some books on taxes and knew how to do them

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I am going to go to a Bible collge

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would tell them to do research before getting into the tax business. I would look around to se what the pay rate is and then look into opening my own tax business.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Well they should know how to do a tax return, have cusotmer service experience and work well with other’s. You also need patience with demanding clients!!!!!!!!!

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Um it depends on what you already know. I know that the IRS has workshop to help you learn more on the tax business

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Trust in God and research as much information you can get on taxes. Things change every where so just be prepared for the following tax year.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No I want to serve God

What are your current career goals?
To go to a Bible college and strive for my doctorate degree.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No I think anyone could do this job or any job if they put their minds to it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Admin assistant1 yr30000assist with payroll and help woth schedules
Prior Job 2program leader2 yearsstipendWorked with elementary and middle school childern, created curriculm for students of afterschool program.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.75

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.75interboro collegebusiness administration
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.