Auto Mechanic 

(Male, Age 39) from Knoxville, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 39 who works as a Auto Mechanic in Knoxville, TN. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Auto Mechanic
Salary 42000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 45
Company Size (not answered)
Location Knoxville, TN
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Midas corporation. The owner of the shop I currently at owns 4 shops and has 40 employees. It is an auto repair facility

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
As far as my job description, I do custom exhausts, engine repair, tire repair, basically any and all types of auto repair.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
They now offer health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under at the moment

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, there is another auto mechanic there, a general service person, a service manager, and a manager. I don’t mind working with others. In fact, i’m very glad there is another mehcanic and a general service person there. It helps take the work load off of me when we are busy.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It is a shop off of a pretty busy intersection. It’s a good location that brings in good business.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Drove to work.
8am to 9am Worked on a custom exhaust for a customer, did a timing belt on another car, also fixed a leaking hose on another vehicle
9am to 10am worked on a transmition, looked at several vehciles for a/c work
10am to 11am worked on two vehicles with a/c problems and got them fixed, did front brakes on another vehicle
11am to 12pm still worked on a vehicles front brakes
12pm to 1pm did front and rear brakes on a truck, worked on a clutch problem for another customer
1pm to 2pm worked on the clutch job
2pm to 3pm finished up the clutch job, started on a transmission problem
3pm to 4pm finished up the transmission job and went home.
4pm to 5pm Arrived home and helped prepare dinner.
5pm to 6pm ate dinner and cleaned up dinner dishes later
6pm to 7pm relaxed and watched some tv
7pm to 8pm relaxed and watched some tv
8pm to 9pm talked on my cell phone until 8:45pm, went to bed at 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Found a listing in the local news paper

What was the application process?
I spoke to the owner of the shop, then we met at another location to discuss pay and hours.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, the interview was held at a Dunkin Donuts. All I really had to do was discuss the pay amount and hours I would be working.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what my knowledge of vehicle repair was. And how much an hour I wanted to start at.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, I was already fully prepared to do my job when I started working there.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, I went to an auto tech school to learn more about working on vehicles. I already had a general knowledge of car care, but wanted to leanr all I could so I could get certified.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
oh yes. The tech school really helped me learn all I could about working on vehicles.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
To go to a vocational auto tech school.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They should have the basic knowledge of how a car engine works, and possibly know how to change oil.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no, not really. hands on experience is best.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Stick with it. And learn any and everything you possibly can about cars.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, although I would really like to work my way into doing a mangement position some day.

What are your current career goals?
To eventually work my way into becoming a service manager or some other type of management job.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is very exciting and rewarding!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Auto Mechanic 6 months 14000 Same as what I am doing now.
Prior Job 2 Auto Mechanic 8 years 32000 Again, same as I am doing now.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:n/a

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/a n/a n/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a n/a n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.