Police Officer (Male, Age 33) in Arcadia, LA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 33 who works as a Police Officer in Arcadia, LA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePolice Officer
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationArcadia, LA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Police department located on the campus of a state university.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Patrolling campus and surrounding areas, to prevent criminal activity and insure the safety of students and faculty. Effecting arrests, when necessary, and providing emergency services.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week paid vacation; sick leave; health, dental, vision, andlife insurance; state employees retirement plan.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Undercompensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job requires strong interpersonal skills, as my fellow officers and I must work as a dependable team, and I am working continually with the public.

I enjoy both the teamwork, and the opportunity to meet and assist people from many walks of life.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I spend brief periods in an office, typing reports and retrieving information, but most of my time is spent in the field. I patrol alone, on bike or on foot, as well as with a partner, in a patrol car. We respond to calls both on campus, and in the surrounding areas, often assisting other nearby police departments.

I enjoy being on the move, and the stimulation of many different challenges and problems.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amNot usually working.
8am to 9amNot usually working.
9am to 10amGet up, put on my uniform and body armor. Check over my duty belt and add items removed each night, such as my weapon, radio, and flashlight.
10am to 11amHead to work, most days, around 10:30am. Check any phone messages, en route to work. Start shift at 11am, by clocking in and being briefed on the events of the last several hours, as well as upcoming events or issues facing us, that day.
11am to 12pm
12pm to 1pm
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Applied through an ad listed on my state’s employment website; found by a search on the same site.

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and application, electronically.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Single in-person interview, with follow-up by phone. Interviewed with the Chief of Police and Assistant Chief of Police.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
A number of hypothetical situations were presented to me, such as “How would you handle it if you pulled over a DUI, and it turned out to be the mayor/a family member/friend?”

I was also asked about my views on drug laws, why I wanted to be a police officer, what previous experience I felt prepared me for this job, etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, there was very little preparation offered, for my position. In my case, it was not necessary, but that should definitely be improved.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
On the job training was made available, as well as specialized courses in the use of chemical weapons, batons, etc. I also had previous experience and training, as a corrections officer.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I did not finish college, and was a History major, so it was not applicable.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/a.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Check with your state civil service office, to determine the specific tests you may need to take, to qualify. Entry-level positions are available, but prior experience in a related field, such as security or corrections, is helpful. Check out your own record, to make sure your criminal record is clean, and any questionable bits of your history can be accounted for.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Excellent people skills, ability to learn new tasks quickly, good memory, strong observational skills, solid writing and descriptive skills. Good overall physical condition.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No specialized education or degree is needed, but training and testing will be required, so knowledge of police work, early on, is very beneficial.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Stay alert; learn to pay attention to and retain everything you see and hear, as it will help both in training, and in keeping you safe on the job. Visit your local police station, and talk to some of the officers there, to find out more about what the particular job experience in that area/dept is like.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I plan on returning to corrections work, in the future, but enjoy police work, and feel it’s adding to and enhancing the skills from my previous work experience. Being a good cop will make me a better corrections officer.

What are your current career goals?
Move to a better-paying department, in the near future; return to corrections work, in the long-term.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Corrections Sergeant1 year29000Corrections Sergeant at a mid-to-maximum security state prison. Supervised inmate activities, established counts, searched inmates and quarters for contraband/weapons, restrained inmates by force, when needed, to prevent escape, fights, and/or prohibited activities.
Prior Job 2Service Tech6mths20000Performed automotive service and repair.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Louisiana Tech UniversityHistory
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.