Secretary (Female, Age 26) in Valley Stream, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Secretary in Valley Stream, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Secretary
Salary $54,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location Valley Stream, NY
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We have several locations around the world, so it’s a large organization. Under our name, we handle banking and asset management.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My title is a Secretary, but I’m more of an assistant. I currently support 4 bankers – phones, calendars, travel, and anything else they need.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 2 days personal, sick days as needed, full benefits (minor contribution), 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
For this position, I’m overcompensated. However, in the world of banking, I’m undercompensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am n/a
8am to 9am n/a
9am to 10am I’m a busier secretary than most in the firm. I also help out with expense reports for all the bankers (not just mine), because one of my banker is the approver for such reports. This morning, I get a ton of emails from secretaries who don’t know how to proceed with a specific part of expense reports. This should be the office manager’s job, but she’s content with leaving it up to me. After I deal with all those, I process expense reports that came in. Got a few phone calls, but I cannot disclose who or the nature of the call.
10am to 11am Got a few more calls. I also had to make 2 expense reports for one of my bankers. Luckily, he’s an analyst, and the reports were very easy. I had a lot of down time so I just browsed the internet.
11am to 12pm lunch
12pm to 1pm Still very slow today. Just phone calls, and nothing else. When my bankers are out to lunch, that pretty much means that I don’t have any work to do until they get back, which in a way is nice. But, I do get expense reports to process in Interoffice mail.
1pm to 2pm A few calls came in this hour. Also, I helped another co-worker in the office with an expense report question. It was a bit annoying only because she asked this question last week, I answered it and walked her through it, and she said she got it. She didn’t even attempt it, because I guess she really didn’t get it. After that, I started to chat with my closest (in proximity) co-worker. That goes into the 2-3PM hour.
2pm to 3pm My co-worker and I chatted probably until 2:45. I did a few expense reports that took the rest of the hour.
3pm to 4pm I literally had nothing to do this hour. All my bankers were busy, so I had time to be on the Internet, chatted on the phone, did some research for personal projects.
4pm to 5pm I did expense reports for the 15 minutes, and went to a different floor to scan a document for one of my bankers. I had a lot of free time, so I was browsed the internet some more, and had time to get a snack. Unfortunately this is one of the slowest days this year by chance, and I can’t offer more insight on what the typical day is. But, I do get to leave at 5PM.
5pm to 6pm n/a
6pm to 7pm n/a
7pm to 8pm n/a
8pm to 9pm n/a
9pm to 10pm n/a
10pm to 11pm n/a
11pm to 12am n/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
employment agency

What was the application process?
Filled out questionnaire, computer skills test, resume/cover letter, in person interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. In fact, I interviewed 3 times. First with the office manager, then with the group of bankers I would have been working for (but then decided to put me with another group), then with that group. Overall it took 3-4 weeks. Ridiculous, in my opinion.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
They asked about my background, and it seemed that they wanted me to know that if I went in as a secretary, that’s not a stepping stone to move my way into being an Analyst. I guess they have a previous applicant say that.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I had to learn from the secretary next to me, but there was no formal training/outline. Everything that I learned, I either figured out, or learned from other secretaries.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I’m overeducated for this position. You don’t need to be extremely smart for this position. However, I feel my education, well, made me more educated, and who wouldn’t want someone educated working for them?

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I didn’t have an internship experience for this position.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I highly suggest getting the help of employment agencies. “Knowing people” won’t get you into this type of business anymore – especially not in these times. When firms do need employees, they will outsource and have those companies filter through all applicants and provided qualified personnel.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You have to be an all around knowledgeable and polite person. You deal with phones and huge clients all the time – and quite frankly, a rude secretary leaves a massive (negative) impression. Also, you have to be knowledgeable, especially on the computer. A lot of bankers are very familiar with computers, and they come to you when they don’t know how to do/find something. If you still have to look at the keyboard when you type, or you “double click” links when they only need a single click, you aren’t cut out for this job. Lastly, organization is huge. If you aren’t organized, and your banker needs something quick, you’ve let them down. Remember, you’re there to make them look good.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Absolutely. Computer training. But not necessarily a certain level of education as long as you know your grammar and are polite.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Get in, work a few years, get out. This isn’t a job you do for your entire life unless you’ve climbed all the way up to the big wigs in the company. Or, jump to a different company where they pay more.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is only because it’s a large, known firm. It could be used as a stepping stone. However, I don’t see myself as an assistant for years and years to come.

What are your current career goals?
I don’t have anything specific planned, unfortunately.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
n/a

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 salesperson 1.5 years commission Real Estate Sales, purely made commission
Prior Job 2 Assistant Manager 2 years 36000 I worked assisting a Manager (who, did absolutely nothing so I did everything, really). I handled the phones, incoming/outgoing orders, customers, and also had to work with the manual labor shop to get all our orders completed.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
New York University Management and Marketing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.