Manager (Male, Age 38) in versailles, KY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 38 who works as a Manager in versailles, KY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleManager
Salary$39,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationversailles, KY
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a glass recycling company. We have plants in many different states. I myself only have one other employee I manage.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I recycle glass, load trucks, keep track of paperwork for trucks and loads, and many other duties.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, all payed insurance and very good coverage, have 401K but do not use.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes I feel good about pay

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with one other person all the time and many truckers come and go.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work at the plant and the only thing I dislike is its outside and in the winter it gets cold…

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 8

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral from employment place

What was the application process?
paper application from employment place

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I was interviewed at the employment placement place. I was interviewed by one person and was asked about experience which I did not have.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Do you have any experience? What is your job history? How long I worked at other jobs? Just basic questions.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I feel I understood what I needed to be doing before I was made to work on my own.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes some training. I had on the job training for a couple of weeks before I did things on my own.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my education was fine for this job. The job is more manual and some computer skills.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Don’t just look for jobs at factories because sometimes those factories have smaller businesses working for them that pay just as well with better chances to move up.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You job takes very good social skills. I deal with many people everyday. Also I am also dealing with work even after I have went home. I take calls all day and night. I have to make decisions on my own.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I do not have a degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just do your job the best you can.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I wanted management experience and I am getting it.

What are your current career goals?
I goals are having experience in management that I might be able to use later.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love my career. I feel I have done very well with less schooling then most. I am glad they gave a chance to show what I can do.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Manager5 years39000I manage a glass recycling company
Prior Job 2operations1 year13I worked at Atlas cold storage. I packed thing up to have them shipped to Kroger.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
N/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.