Hostess/Server (Female, Age 29) in Springfield, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Hostess/Server in Springfield, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHostess/Server
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSpringfield, VA
Years Experience1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Red Lobster, which is a restaurant with locations all over the country. We are a subsidiary of Darden Restaurants, which also owns Olive Garden, Smokey Bones, and Bahama Breeze. Nationwide, we have thousands of employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Greet and seat guests, serve food, clean and stock supplies

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical, Dental, Vision, Life, AD&D

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I am constantly working with people, and that’s one of the things I love most about my job. My coworkers are energetic and fun, and I get to meet new people (customers) every day.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a restaurant and I like the fact that I’m on my feet and moving around all day. I couldn’t never stand being stuck in an office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amN/A
8am to 9amN/A
9am to 10amN/A
10am to 11amArrive at work. Fill spray bottles with table cleaner. Restock paper towels at all dining room stations. Put chairs at bar. Put menus in menu holders.
11am to 12pmGreet and seat guests. Clean windows. Help servers clean tables.
12pm to 1pmGreet and seat guests. Sort menus and throw away dirty ones.
1pm to 2pmGreet and seat guests. Roll children’s menus. Check restrooms and clean/stock as necessary.
2pm to 3pmGreet and seat guests. Assist job applicants with filling out applications and taking pre-employment tests.
3pm to 4pmGreet and seat guests. Vacuum floors. Clean lobster tank.
4pm to 5pmSwitch all menus from lunch to dinner. Restock supplies. Clean and set up for dinner crew.
5pm to 6pmN/A
6pm to 7pmN/A
7pm to 8pmN/A
8pm to 9pmN/A
9pm to 10pmN/A
10pm to 11pmN/A
11pm to 12amN/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
Completed application, took test, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had one interview with the service manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked how I would handle certain situations, such as having an upset customes. I was also asked about my employment and educational background.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. As I said above, training was extensive.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I had extensive training. First we had orientation, then two days of classroom training, then three days of on-the-floor training, then one day of computer training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Other than knowing basic math and English, my education didn’t have much to do with my job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
My job is an entry-level job, and all you really have to do is apply.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You work with people on a daily basis and customer satisfaction is key to how much you get paid (tips), so good social skills are vital. The ability to multitask and manage stress is also important because you’re usually juggling many tasks at once in a very time-pressured environment.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Basic math and good English speaking are all you need.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t expect to please everybody because it’s just not possible. Sometimes you have to “cut your losses” and move on.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I never thought I’d end up in this job, but now that I’m here, I think I’m going to stay in this field. I’d like to move up to management though.

What are your current career goals?
I want to go to management training and become a manager at my restaurant.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
My line of work is perfect for people like me who can’t stand being stuck in an office. I love being active and moving around all day.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Human Resources Assistant1 year 4 months36000Administered benefits programs and benefits education for staff of an association.
Prior Job 2EMT4 months$10/hourTreated and transported patients in an ambulance.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.95George Mason UniversityBA in Music
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.