Sales Coordinator (Female, Age 25) in Chatham, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Sales Coordinator in Chatham, NJ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSales Coordinator
Salary$42,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationChatham, NJ
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are an experiential merketing company that has about 50 full-time staff employees and an equal amount of freelancers.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for managing proposals and sales materials for the account executives. I do the weekly pipeline, set up meetings, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, dental, vision, 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
we are a small-ish firm, so i think compensation could be better but it is satisfactory

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes all the time, all day long. I enjoy working with others, but it can be distracting because I have a lot of different responsibilities.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I have a window office overlooking 5th Avenue in Manhattan, which is great. I do wish I could travel more though but I am always in the office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amArrive at the office around 8:45
9am to 10amCheck emails, respond and print out the ones that need me to take action
10am to 11amOpen up Proposal Numbers & Folders… for all of our new proposals we need to have a number assigned so we can track the costs associated with it. Also a folder is created on the server to store relevant information
11am to 12pmFind contact information for new leads
12pm to 1pmFind contact information for new leads. Run to Staples to get a USB port
1pm to 2pmLunch at desk checking email
2pm to 3pmordering client gifts, checking and editing job summaries from completeed jobs.
3pm to 4pmBinding proposals for a meeting tomorrow morning
4pm to 5pmassembling brochures to be Fed-Exed to prospective clients
5pm to 6pmSend out Fed-Ex’s try to leave the office before 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Emailed resume, interviewed once

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to come into Manhattan and interview with the VP Business Development and COO

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
A lot abotu past work history and sales experience. What do i think I can bring to the company, etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
At times, but there are a lot of new processes being implemented so it is the first time through for everyone

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not too much, mostly hands-on training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
In a way, I use all of the computer skills I learned but a lot of it hinges on interpersonal relationships

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Search on Monster or a similar website.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, organizartial skills, time management, stress managment, collaboration, creativity, computer skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
You need to be very open-minded and willing to accept responsibility for things. Always ask to be a part of new projects. Keep everything organized!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
it is now…i think my experience here will help me in the future tremendously

What are your current career goals?
I am still unsure

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No, thank you

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales Associate6 months10/hrIntermediate job right after I moved from the West Coast. Sell clothes to customers, inventory management, etc.
Prior Job 2Account Executive1.5 years38000Find new leadgs, generate new business. manage accounts, sell equipment, hang onto accounts for repeat business

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4University of MarylandBA Psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.