Client Support Representative (Female, Age 26) in brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Client Support Representative in brooklyn, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleClient Support Representative
Salary$60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationbrooklyn, NY
Years Experience1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I provide first level support for a variety of products and services offered by my company.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Answer client inquiries via phone, email, or live chat. Assist clients with navigating the product/site, providing first level technical support on an as needed basis.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k, 2 weeks vacation, sick days, health insurance, tuition reimbursement

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with a small team of customer service reps, we generally go to each other for help with the more difficult cases or just to confirm who the correct party is to escalate an issue to. I think my coworkers are great, so I enjoy being able to interact with them.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a high rise office in the heart of the financial district. I don’t mind the location or office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral from a friend

What was the application process?
Submitted an online application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, 3 interviews total. One with HR, one with my immediate supervisor and one with her supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
General questions about my past experience, skills that I’ve developed and general interests in the field/sector. I had explained early on that I was not familiar with the products themselves but with the process of handling client inquiries.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was slowly introduced to the different products I would be monitoring and the different communication channels I would be utilizing.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I shadowed colleagues for a few weeks as they handled client inquiries via phone, email or live chat. I was then tasked with taking on cases on my own with the understanding that my colleagues would be there to assist.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My educational background was useful in that it taught me critical thinking skills, but I would not consider it necessary for this specific position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Obtain a job in a related field where you can learn the soft skills necessary to talk to be in a client facing position. Prior to this role I worked as a personal banker at a small bank.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organized, friendly, social. Not afraid to ask for help. Calm and clear headed.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No, but a college degree is helpful as it teaches you critical thinking skills which is necessary in helping clients.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure you really like your coworkers/manager. The work itself can be monotonous so it’s important that you’re in a good work environment.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:90

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4BaruchBA – Management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.4BaruchMBA – Marketing

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.