Financial Analyst I (Female, Age 25) in San Antonio, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Financial Analyst I in San Antonio, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFinancial Analyst I
Salary$43,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSan Antonio, TX
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Housing Authority offering public assistance to low income families. There are approximately 600 employees with 1000s of families being assisted daily.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I analyze financial information pertaining to properties under consideration of being purchased or refinanced. I also deal with executive officers and their requests for proformas and market research studies. I analyze bond, tax credit, and refianncing financial information to see whether the opportunity is viable and in the best interest of all/most parties involved.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health, Dental, Vision, Life, Short-term & Long-term disability

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel undercompensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job does entail working with others on a daily basis including clients, executives, and the board of directors. On occassion, there are also mandatory trainings and banquets that I attend to mingle with others as well. This is something I enjoy doing because it diversifies what I am doing as well as allowing me to meet and interact with other not only in my company but with other individuals as well.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office building downtown. I like working in the office because I am able to interact with co-workers. Also, it keeps distractions limited.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amArrive at work. Begin working on projects for the CFO in regards to proforming a property in discussions of being sold or refinanced.
9am to 10amContinue working on CFO project. Began working on 2 other projects for Finance & Accounting Director for the CFO. One is a letter to be mailed to the local officiating office, the other an operating report.
10am to 11amMeet and discuss with CFO and Director on status of projects.
11am to 12pmPre-closing luncheon
12pm to 1pmPre-closing luncheon
1pm to 2pmContinue working on CFO project. Presented items to Board members.
2pm to 3pmContinue working on Director’s projects. Talked to other employees relating to project.
3pm to 4pmFinalized Director’s project on operating report. Began working on letter.
4pm to 5pmContinued working on letter. Leave office for the day.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found my job on the internet.

What was the application process?
I mailed in an application which I printed out from online.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did have to interview for my current job. The interview was a last minute deal. The representative from HR called stating that they would be conducting interviews that afternoon and wanted to know if I would be available. I responded with yes, and got ready to come in within the hour. I was interviewed by a panel of 4 supervisors each with their own set of questions. After everything was covered, there was an open question and answer section.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What type of work had I done previously. What experience, if any, and how many years of experience did I have. Scenario type questions on how I would deal with a specific situation.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I do feel that my employer properly prepared me for the job. They provided adequate training and have an open door policy. My boss is also very helpful when I need assistance.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was system training which I was provided a day of training. After I completed system trainging, I trained side-by-side with another employee of the same level and capacity in which I would be working.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I do feel that my educational background laid the foundation and helped prepared me for the job, but I also feel that alot of the things I do on a daily basis was learned over time by doing it on the job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I had an internship, and I didn’t feel that the experience prepared me for the job because the internship was more like an office assistance watching from the sidelines.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to college, finish your degree, and try to get licensed and/or an MBA.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A person should have technical skills, management skills, communication skills, organization skills, and social skills. Technical skills get the job done quickly and correctly. Management skills enables one to manage work distribute work accordingly, if capable. Communication skills allows one to be able to successfully communicate with supervisors, co-workers, as well as any other individual they may interact with. Organizational and social skills just make everyday working

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would recommend being proactive and trying to learn everything anyone has to offer knowledge of. Also, take good notes to refer back to later when you’re on your own.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
My current employment is part of my career plan because it’ll give me experience and knowledge to take on to another company. I also see myself enrolling in training, going back for a higher educational degree, and getting licensured.

What are your current career goals?
My current career goal is to learn what I need to learn and move on to be a higher leveled employee. I would like to become an Analyst II and/or become a supervisor of a department.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I am starting to get back into the school/training mode and would like to go back to get my master’s degree as well as a CPA license.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Accountant I1year 3 months36000General Ledger Accountant. Entered JEs, prepared audit packages, made adjusting entries when necessary.
Prior Job 2Operations Supervisor3 years41000Manage a team of 15 individuals to meet and exceed client quotas.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.1UTSAAccounting/BBA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3UTSAFinance/BBA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.