Law Clerk (Female, Age 24) in Lexington, KY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Law Clerk in Lexington, KY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLaw Clerk
Salary$32,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week37.5
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLexington, KY
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a non-profit organization that lobbies for the rights of city and town governments, and provides legal advice for member cities

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I answer incoming legal questions from city leaders throughout the state and make sure that the department publications are up to date

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I pay for my own health insurance through an alternate plan.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, there is a conference of the legal team once per day, and I meet with the department head on difficult issues. I enjoy the comraderie.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amI arrive at work at 8:30 and check my voicemail, keeping a record of all of the incoming questions.
9am to 10amI return the calls that are of a routine nature, and do basic research on some of the other issues using WestLaw.
10am to 11amI work on revising one of our departmental publications, which entails research on WestLaw and some time looking up law review articles.
11am to 12pmI work on responding to legal matters submitted by e-mail on the organizations website/
12pm to 1pmI take my lunch hour during this time
1pm to 2pmI return phone calls from lunch, and continue to work on publication revisions.
2pm to 3pmConference with the Legal Department during this time. We discuss the legal issues that city leaders have called in with today, and the revisions of a publication.
3pm to 4pmI am on the phone for the better part of the hour discussing an upcoming legislative luncheon and its details with a city mayor.
4pm to 5pmI finish up some e-mail correspondence and make sure my voicemails are up to date, and finish my day at 5:00.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Career Services department of my law school

What was the application process?
submitted resume and cover letter via e-mail

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I interviewed with the entire legal team. I only had one interview, and was asked to submit writing samples.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
A series of questions required by the organization as a whole detailing my leadership skills and personalty traits,followed by questions specific to my legal background

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, but it is an ongoing process and I still feel like I am in training at times!

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I was trained on legal research and telephone procedures for speaking with city officials.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, very much. My analytical skills were very much strengthened by college and law school, and its vital in this field.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, I interned with a non-profit organization during college and it helped me understand the lobbying process.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Attending law school and seeking a similar position through career services or personal research

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Sharp editing skills, attention to detail, logic

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, a legal degree s vital

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared to be unprepared. Law school prepares you, but new situations arise all the time and you have to think well on your feet

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, though I will be moving on to a more permanent position in the future.

What are your current career goals?
I want to be an attorney for a university.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I think that covers it!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Clerk2 years15/hrLegal research, filing, etc.
Prior Job 2Courier1 year10/hrFiling, Copying, Legal Errands

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7NC StateBA Poli Scie
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.2KentuckyJD

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.