Travel Coordinator (Female, Age 45) in Oakley, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 45 who works as a Travel Coordinator in Oakley, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Travel Coordinator
Salary $75,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 25
Company Size (not answered)
Location Oakley, CA
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I run a small home-based business that supplies clients with travel options. I plan and book custom vacations.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I help customers decide where they want to go then present them with various hotel and activity options that I think will suit their needs. I then book the entire vacation.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
travel discounts

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I have to deal with customers and other travel professionals on a daily basis. I love what I do but sometimes people that can’t make up their minds get a little frustrating.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I have a home office that I wish was a little bigger. I wish I had more room for a filing system.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Get up and get the kids off to school.
8am to 9am Check my email and delete the junk.
9am to 10am Get organized, make phone calls, clean house if there are no customers calling, do laundry
10am to 11am Do a little marketing. Send out advertising emails.
11am to 12pm Lunch
12pm to 1pm Research any new clients interests.
1pm to 2pm Basically, my day depends on the amount of clients I have at any one time. This could flucuate with the seasons. If I have no clients, I spend extra time researching new places.
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm Kids come home and want to eat.
4pm to 5pm Start planning dinner, maybe run to the grocery store.
5pm to 6pm Make and eat dinner
6pm to 7pm spend time with my husband and kids
7pm to 8pm same
8pm to 9pm watch TV
9pm to 10pm watch TV
10pm to 11pm go to bed.
11pm to 12am sleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I saw that the local college was offering classes

What was the application process?
I got trained

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Since I am the employer, I would say I did everything I could to prepare myself for this line of work.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, there were many college courses to choose from.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I took the proper classes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I didn’t have an internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to school and take as many travel classes as you can. Even then, it’s really hard to plan a vacation for someone if you’ve never been to that location before. You must research!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social and Organizational skills are the most important. If there is no attention to detail, you could really ruin someone’s vacation.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It’s not as easy or glamourous as it sounds. You really don’t get free travel. You have to work very hard for your money and you have to be available to your customers at all hours in case of an emergency.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I love doing this.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to make the time to go on a vacation myself!

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No, It’s fantastic!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Stand Manager 3 yrs volunteer I work concessions at the SF Giants games to raise money for our local girls to compete in the Arts.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4 Los Medanos Travel Marketing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.