Credit Analyst 

(Male, Age 25) from White Plains, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 25 who works as a Credit Analyst in White Plains, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Credit Analyst
Salary $70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location White Plains, NY
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Markit Group Limited is the leading provider of independent, multi-asset class, high value services for the global financial market.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work on pricing leveraged loans and Loans Credit Default Swaps

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
With daily data contributions from over 70 dealing firms, our services are used by nearly 1000 global financial firms. Clients include commercial and investment banks, hedge funds, rating agencies, regulators, asset managers, insurance companies and more in over 30 countries.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Had a coffee early morning and sat in front of the computer and organized my things at the desk
8am to 9am Had scheduled few appointments and had to make phone calls and had a 8:30 am meeting with couple of clients
9am to 10am Got into answering emails and was completing a pending stuff of previous day
10am to 11am Worked on a project report and did some research
11am to 12pm continued working on a project report and did some research
12pm to 1pm Na
1pm to 2pm Had scheduled meetings during this time
2pm to 3pm Had a conference calls with seniors based in different country
3pm to 4pm Had to reply to few emails
4pm to 5pm continued replying to emails and had to attend to few phone calls
5pm to 6pm Headed home early for some personal work
6pm to 7pm na
7pm to 8pm na
8pm to 9pm na
9pm to 10pm Went to bed early as i had an early morning flight to another state
10pm to 11pm na
11pm to 12am na

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Through a friend

What was the application process?

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes 4 rounds of formal and informal interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
i think so

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes on the job

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes.. i am currently pursuing a advanced degree as well

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Yes I would recommend him if he is interested in the field of derivatives

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Understanding of credit derivatives

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?

What are your current career goals?

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.