Sales Rep (Female, Age 26) in Lynchburg, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Sales Rep in Lynchburg, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Rep
Salary $70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location Lynchburg, VA
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am an independent contractor who meets with clients individually to market and sell our prouducts.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I market at trade and bridal shows, and sell on a one to one basis

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
create my own schedule

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, it allows me to meet many new people

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am sleep
8am to 9am sleep
9am to 10am wake up get ready for school
10am to 11am class – Theater
11am to 12pm class – French
12pm to 1pm Lunchtime with friends
1pm to 2pm Check work and school emails Call customers who have problems
2pm to 3pm Class – Science
3pm to 4pm Class – Science
4pm to 5pm Class – Science
5pm to 6pm Make dinner/ do homework
6pm to 7pm Get dressed for work. Leave for in home demonstrations
7pm to 8pm Inhome demonstration
8pm to 9pm Inhome demonstration
9pm to 10pm come home process orders (fax in) finish homework
10pm to 11pm relax with husband, watch tv
11pm to 12am watch tv/ read

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
friend

What was the application process?
immediate interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
1 interview with supervisor

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
no

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes but it is a position you have to do, to improve

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I went through weeks of product training and worked with a mentor

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes I have taken classes in English, Math, and Marketing

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Be patient and practice talking with people. Build up a good self esteem if you are told no, which will happen.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
good oral skills, positive personality

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
trained in products and educated to proper English and basic math skills

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be positive

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it gives me the flexability to go to school, as well as sharpens my people skills

What are your current career goals?
To obtain a position teaching

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.7

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7 Lynchburg College Education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.