Research Paralegal (Female, Age 29) in New York, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Research Paralegal in New York, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Research Paralegal
Salary $65,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 38
Company Size (not answered)
Location New York, NY
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
large, international life insurance company

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
State legislative and regulatory tracking and lobbying

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 5 study days a sememster, health insurance, 401k, tuition reimbursement, half day summer Fridays

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I love working with others; there is tons of collaboration and work as a team internally and with various departments.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office in midtown; it is in a great convenient location

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 7
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am travel to work
8am to 9am travel to work
9am to 10am draft various emails internally and to our trade association to follow up on outstanding issues and provide clarification
10am to 11am assist attorney with compile documents for his presentation to board of directors
11am to 12pm participate on trade conference call regarding insurer disclosure
12pm to 1pm lunch with collegue from compliance department
1pm to 2pm review emails from trade association on newly introduced legislation and review legislation and regulation introduced during the prior day via our subscription tracking service
2pm to 3pm participate in industry conference call on insurer disclosure
3pm to 4pm participate in industry conference call on retained asset accounts
4pm to 5pm compile and organize meeting notes from daily conference calls; update my managers on outcome of calls; provide updates to internal collegues.
5pm to 6pm send internal emails on pending and introduced legislation; send email to external counsel seeking clarification
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
adverstisement at law school

What was the application process?
electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
prescreened by recruiter, interview with HR, interview with various VPs, coworkers, follow up with higher level people. These were all individual interviews.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Tons of questions regarding my knowledge, prior work history, schooling, ability to travel and relocate.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, my coworkers and managers were helpful at providing me with answers to my questions and background materials.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
on the job

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I am currently in law school which has been helpful in my field.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Gain some experience in the legal field at either a large law firm or a small one.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Well-spoken, outgoing, detail oriented and focused.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, it is important to understand various issues effecting the industry.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Learn as much as you can about insurance.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is. I hope that I am retained after graduating from law school. IT is a great company and has a wonderful culture and learning opportunities for its employees.

What are your current career goals?
become an attorney

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 legal assistant 5 years 41000 draft legal documents, prepare local laws, draft bond documents
Prior Job 2 Associate Director of Annual Fund 1 year 36000 coordinate 5th and 10th reunions; conduct annual phonathon, coordinate annual giving campaign, conduct personal visits with alumni to solicit donations.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:5.1

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4 Vassar College Economics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.5 Pace Law School Law Degree

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.