Associate Attorney 

(Male, Age 28) from Hicksville, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 28 who works as a Associate Attorney in Hicksville, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Associate Attorney
Salary $65,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location Hicksville, NY
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am an associate at a small law firm. I am one of three attorneys. We practice in the area of commercial litigation.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I perform legal research, draft legal papers, do extensive work in the discovery phase, and research various issues relating to commercial litigation.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vacation, partial health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Since the firm is small (3 attorneys), I do a good amount of work with my colleagues, but I also do a good amount of work on my own. I like the mixture and camaraderie.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
See above.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 7
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Bring son to daycare
8am to 9am Commute to work
9am to 10am Arrive at work. receive e-mails. review correspondence.
10am to 11am Respond to above.
11am to 12pm Perform legal research. Draft papers
12pm to 1pm lunch
1pm to 2pm continue legal research.
2pm to 3pm continue drafting papers
3pm to 4pm same.
4pm to 5pm bill for time spent
5pm to 6pm leave work, pick up son
6pm to 7pm arrive home.
7pm to 8pm n/a
8pm to 9pm n/a
9pm to 10pm remotely access work e-mails, respond if needed.
10pm to 11pm n/a
11pm to 12am n/a

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
submitted resume, cover letter, interviewed twice

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with the senior partner twice and with my eventual colleague once. We discussed responsibilities and the differences between small-firm and mid-size firm life.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
See above.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes – we were pretty thorough in the interview process and the work environment has been supportive as i am learning a new field of law.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No – i learn on the job.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I do. Going to a good law school was a good decision, and the education i received has proven helpful.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You have to go to law school, pass the bar exam, and practice law for a few years before being able to get a job similar to mine.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills are key – you have to be able to communicate and interact on many levels. And you have to have a head on your shoulders.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Good luck – this field is a lot of hard work, but it can be rewarding.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes – I enjoy my job and the people here.

What are your current career goals?
I plan to be a partner in a law firm.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:94

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.1 Binghamton English, Bachelors
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3 Wake Forest Law School J.D.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.