Office Manager (Female, Age 41) in lawrenceville, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 41 who works as a Office Manager in lawrenceville, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$55,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
Locationlawrenceville, GA
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The office is a mortgage company that is a small broker office doing wholesale loans for customers.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am the office manager where I oversee the office. I answer the phones by relieving the receptonist for lunch breaks. I order the office supplies and make sure the loan officers keep their appointements.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
all benefits…medical, dental, and paid vacation.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
No I am not over compensated for my job.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I like my job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My job is located in an office. The job is very easy. I work directly with my manager, the pay is great and the job is good.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 1
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 3
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGot up and getting ready for work.
8am to 9amLeaving home around 8am to get to work.
9am to 10amArrive to work. Turn off the alarm system. Cut lights on. Check voicemail messages. Put on pot of coffee.
10am to 11amretrieve messages and put on loan officers desk and on the boss desk as well.
11am to 12pmcheck supplies. get phone calls in reference to mortgage leads give calls to loan officers. Follow up with attorney to make sure loan is still schedule to close today. Notify loan officer and processor
12pm to 1pmlunch one hour.
1pm to 2pmFollow up with lender that package has been sent to the attorney. Notify the customer that the closing will take place today. Make sure and confirm with loan officer and real estate agent that they will be at the closing.
2pm to 3pmDoing multi task, clearing items with processor to get another loan schedule to close and leaving message with loan officer again about closing.
3pm to 4pmreceive call from loan officer. All is okay with the closing package. Closing take place today at 4:30 everyone is there and funds will be there for everyone to get paid.
4pm to 5pmMake copies of items for loan processing, go to office depot ran out of paper. Purchase paper headed back to the office.
5pm to 6pmLoan officer arrives at the office loan closed successful. Brings closing package back. Put closing package in order to give to the mortgage broker for review. Give checks to the mortgage broker as well. Will prepare deposit slip for tomorrow to deposit into the bank for the closing.
6pm to 7pmGone for the day. Getting ready for another day tomorrow. Left the owner there he will set the alarm and cut off the lights.
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
friend

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, the interview process was great. It was a referral so I knew I would get the job just had to pass a back ground check.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What are your goals. Tell me about yourself. Your strengths and weakness.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, it was self explanatory.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I have a degree in accounting.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
To apply by filling out an application and have an associates degree.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Need organization skills, must be able to multi task as well. Must be very proactive.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Let them know the job is easy. Be on time and dress for success.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes…I am planning on getting my broker license as well.

What are your current career goals?
Obtain my broker license

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1office mgr1 year51000Run the office. The oversee of daily transactions for the job.
Prior Job 2processor10yrs38000process loans for loan officers.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5UNCaccounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.