Physician (Male, Age 55) in Troy, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 55 who works as a Physician in Troy, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePhysician
Salary$53,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationTroy, MI
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Lage city hospital

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Patient care and rehab. Surgery, counciling and pain relif.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, constant cpatient interaction and interaction and team work with others as well.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Consistenty moving about in a hospital .Can get very tiring and stressful.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 2

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Two interviews. One by a supervisor and the other by the board.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Questions about previous experience, my ability to give 110%, skills and demands at the position.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
The employer did not prepare me. School did.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. Four years of undergraduate college, 4 year of medical school and 5 years of residency.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. Extensive hands on and practical knowlege was imparted along with theoretical knowledge.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, it gave valueable hands on experience.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Work hard and do well in college and high school .Keep your grades up and go to medical school. After that life gets easier.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills- lots of interaction with other

work ethic- very important in such a field

perseverence- must give it your best when others fate is on the line

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work hard but dont forget to relax as it can get very stressful.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it is the perfect end to my career.

What are your current career goals?
To retire in a few yers after my children are through college. Then just relax.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Physician10 years45000Quite the same as present.
Prior Job 2Physician5 years40000Primary care physician. Fist round of patient interaction and ewarly medical care.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8AbroadBiology BS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8AbroadMD

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.