Marriage And Family Therapist (Female, Age 27) in Rocky Hill, CT

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Marriage And Family Therapist in Rocky Hill, CT. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMarriage And Family Therapist
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRocky Hill, CT
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work at a agency that focuses on families and children between the ages of 4-17 who need our services for a healthier family life. We work with an ethnically and economically diverse community.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am a clinician who see these families and children. I assess their needs and work with them to heal and/or grow together.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes and I enjoy working with others because it provides with resources and support

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office, which I enjoy because it mentally prepares me for work

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 7
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am
10am to 11amget into work. Do paper work- bill insurance companies, check appointment book for upcoming appointments this week
11am to 12pm
12pm to 1pmClinical meeting with psychiatrists and other clinicians about mutual clients and their status.
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pmClients
3pm to 4pmClients
4pm to 5pmClients
5pm to 6pmClients
6pm to 7pmClients
7pm to 8pmClients
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral from peers

What was the application process?
submit a resume and then a paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, two interviews- both individual

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What are your strengths and constraints?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, graduate school with two internships during the course of my program

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, it was my focus in Graduate school

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
pursue a Bachelor’s in psychology, and then a Master’s in Marriage and Family Therapy

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be an empathetic listener, warm, good multitasker, think outside of the box, and remain unjudgmental

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes- graduate school

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
make sure you are committed to it

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it is exactly what i went to school for.

What are your current career goals?
To eventually open my own practice and write a book.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1clinician1 year50000clinical intern providing services to families and children
Prior Job 2nanny215000responsible for 3 children

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4UConnpsychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8Central CTMFT

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.