Special Educator 

(Female, Age 30) from Belmont, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Special Educator in Belmont, MA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Special Educator
Salary $50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Belmont, MA
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Public school department.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Education of students with severe disabilities

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Blue Cross health, dental. Pension plan

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated, would like to be over compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with many many adults every day. It has it’s pluses and minuses.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 3
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 4

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Online electronic app.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I interviewed in front of a panel of 6 people.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Not really. But I guess I answered them very well.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go work with children with special needs, like as a mentor or in an afterschool program. It’s a hard job that not everyone is well suited for.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Patience, compassion, organization, common sense.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Minimum of a Master’s or working on one.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Organize yourself. Ask a million questions. Don’t stop asking questions until someone tells you to stop. Breathe, you’re going to be fine.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.