Bookkeeper (Female, Age 25) in Tarzana, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Bookkeeper in Tarzana, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleBookkeeper
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationTarzana, CA
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small bookkeeping firm. We have different clients that we manage their books and perform weekly and monthly accounting services.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
General ledger accounting, pay bills, reconcile bank accounts, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well-compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like my work environment. It is varied and a lot of freedom.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My boss and I work together on things. Also work with clients.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 3

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My previous company got sold, had a lead from that job though

What was the application process?
Did not have to apply, as I knew my now-boss already

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
She is great at training me and teaching me new things that I need to know. I for the most part feel prepared.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I have learned a lot on the job. My previous accounting experience (at the publishing company accounting department) helped me too.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I majored in psychology, that doesn’t help me.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have an accounting/bookkeeping background, whether in previous jobs or schooling. Start off in the accounting department in an entry level position to get some experience.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They should be organized and responsible. Have decent social skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, they need a background of accounting/bookkeeping education. Whether it be in school or taught-on-job

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be organized! Keep copies of everything.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, this is what I would like to do and would eventually like to do it working for myself, so this is helping to train me.

What are your current career goals?
I want to be a bookkeeper with my own clients. I like the ability to somewhat make my own hours and do a lot of my work from home.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nothing else I can think of.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Accounting Coordinator4 yrs$18/hr + overtime and bonuses = ~40K per yearAccounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, Royalties, etc.
Prior Job 2Bookkeeper1 yr$25/hr no bonusWork with different clients, maintain accurate cash balances, pay bills, reconcile bank accounts, etc

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4.1

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.75UCLAPsychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.