Industrial Engineer, Associate (Female, Age 24) in New Orleans, LA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Industrial Engineer, Associate in New Orleans, LA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleIndustrial Engineer, Associate
Salary$48,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNew Orleans, LA
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
One of the top contracting competitors in the Aerospace industry

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Master Scheduling

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental, college reimbursement, vision, 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under paid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Sometimes I work with others. Most of the time I work at a computer. I like the difference, because sometimes I am in the mood to be social, but sometimes I want to be by myself, and I have the option to do either.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amMy work day usually starts at 6:15 to 6:30. This is when I check and respond to email. I also evaluate work instructions by checking the pay points. Pay points are the steps in the work instructions that an employee clocks to.
8am to 9amI go to a morning status meeting. I have schedules that I update on a projector screen with the percentage complete with the items my department is working. This is a meeting with all of the team members/engineers in my department. We also discuss issues in the department in the meeting.
9am to 10amWork on action items from the morning status meeting. Find out where work instructions are for upcoming processes for the department. If the work instructions are in a different department, I contact that department to request priority for an work instruction.
10am to 11amTake the percent complete of each action item that I received in the morning meeting to pay standards for the week. This is done by using software and an Excel spreadsheet. These standards are then put in a chart to compare to the actual hours spent on the action items.
11am to 12pmLunch break
12pm to 1pmContinue to make charts displaying the standards earned versus the actual hours spent on the job. Also, labor charges are checked and errors are corrected in a computer software.
1pm to 2pmCheck the queue to see if there are any work instructions that need to go through you for approval. If there are, sign off the plans by checking the pay points.
2pm to 3pmFinish up any additional action items that came up during the day. Usually checking charts that were made for standards earned vs. actual hours spent. Make a packaged printout to give to the supervisor of the department to be presented in a meeting.
3pm to 4pmWork with Manufacturing Engineering to find any other plans or work instructions that need to be put on a list to be released in the near future. Make sure the release dates are correct. Add any plans that are needed in the next two months.
4pm to 5pmN/A
5pm to 6pmN/A
6pm to 7pmN/A
7pm to 8pmN/A
8pm to 9pmN/A
9pm to 10pmN/A
10pm to 11pmN/A
11pm to 12amN/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
submitted resume, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes; Flew in for an all day interview. One interview with HR, one with supervisor, and one with all of the leads with the department

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Do you think you can handle the workload/hours?, different questions about my experience and clubs in college, hobbies

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, I think I was given more responsibility sooner than most other people in my situation would have been. But I was also guided well once I got to the position. If I have any questions, I can ask my supervisor.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Following around/being mentored by an experience engineer until I was ready to be on my own

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I think the education went a lot more in depth on the subjects then the actual used material in the job environment. There are also people skills that were not taught in school, that I think are extremely valuable in this position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Absolutely yes. I think my internship prepared me for how to deal with situations, and more about working with different types of employees than anyone can learn in a classroom. I think it took some of the shock away at the beginning, too.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
send a resume directly to the manager/supervisor or any one in the department that you specifically want to work in

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
mathematical skills, organizational skills, social skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes; you are expected to know things and pick up on things quickly

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Pay attention really closely during training, take good notes–write something down when you think it sounds important for reference later. Be confident in your work and things that you say.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I think that it will take me in a nice direction, but I am not absolutely sure that is the direction I will ultimately decide to stay in.

What are your current career goals?
To be in a position where travel is more involved, and to have better hours, more respect

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a good first job. I do not think my department gets the respect it deserves so it is very frustrating at times. The experience is valuable.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Industrial Engineer1 year +48000Master scheduling
Prior Job 2Continuous Improvement Co-op1.5 years10000Internship; worked on different continuous improvement teams throughout the company such as Lean Manufacturing, Accident Prevention, Energy Conservation, and Improving Communication; also was responsible for the company’s suggestion system

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4The University of AlabamaBachelor of Science in Industrial Engineering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.