Paralegal (Female, Age 22) in Bolling AFB, DC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 22 who works as a Paralegal in Bolling AFB, DC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleParalegal
Salary$43,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week42
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBolling AFB, DC
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is an international law firm employing approximately 1,000 lawyers in a number of project areas.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Follow-up on transaction closings, review/proofread contracts and documents, prepare documents for closings.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health Insurance, Metrochecks, gym membership

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with others daily. Our work is done very collaboratively. I love it because the other 3 people view it as a team effort and work well together.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a small office suite in a residential neighborhood. I love it. Everyone knows each other and it’s quiet. It’s a very relaxed setting where I am able to be creative and get a lot accomplished.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 5
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCommute to work (Drive to the metro train station, then take a train)
8am to 9amCheck emails. Follow up with 2 associate lawyers on pending items from projects from the day before. Check in with both project areas to see if they have any projects for today.
9am to 10amCompare two loan agreements, double checking redlined documents (documents that show changes between different versions of the documet) to ensure all the corrections were made. (This includes organizational changes, changes to the wording, etc.)
10am to 11amsame as above
11am to 12pmsame as above
12pm to 1pmLunch.
1pm to 2pmPrepare UCC filing docuements, which ensure that the transactions are being processed in a legal manner. Contact filing service with the client and billing information and set up filing.
2pm to 3pmPrepare a binder of all the original documents from a transaction closed a week prior. Organize each document with tabs and signature pages.
3pm to 4pmsame as above
4pm to 5pmsame as above
5pm to 6pmPrepare cover letters for the binders addressed to the contact from each party.
6pm to 7pmCommute home.
7pm to 8pmn/a
8pm to 9pmn/a
9pm to 10pmn/a
10pm to 11pmn/a
11pm to 12amn/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
MonsterTrak

What was the application process?
Sumbitted cover letter, resume and writing sample

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did interview for my current job. I interviewed with 5 people in one project area, from the top lawyer to another paralegal.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why did you pick our firm? Do you speak any foreign languages? Do you multi-task well? Can you be flexible with your schedule and pick up some overtime?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
They gave me the basic skills I needed, but a lot of it you just have to learn as you go along.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, it entailed going through the company policies and computer training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, there was really nothing in my education that prepared me for my job, with the exception of my writing courses.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend doing a lot of background research on the type of firm (i.e. the project areas) and if their need is for more of an administrative paralegal or one that deals with more substantive work.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Writing skills are definitely the most important, but you definitely need to have social skills to deal with clients and other law firms.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, bachelor’s degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
You may not be doing the most exciting work at first, but stick with it, as the lawyers get to know you they give you better, more important tasks.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it is giving me experience in the field of law before going to law school.

What are your current career goals?
To become an international lawyer.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It can be boring, but it is a good starting point for my future career goals.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Office Assistant1.5 years$15/hourPrepared weekly schedule, ordered office supplies, ran the box office.
Prior Job 2Shift Supervisor2 years$9/hourActing manager on nights and weekends, made deposits of stores daily income, filled in at the photo counter

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5George Washington Univ.International Affairs
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.