Office Manager (Female, Age 45) in New York, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 45 who works as a Office Manager in New York, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$42,600
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNew York, NY
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is a contracting firm renovating up-scale apartments and green building. There are about 20 people who work for the company.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I take care of the office inventory, purchase orders for the clients, office payroll, getting and updating Lien Waivers, Certificate of Insurance forms, Work Permits and AIA applications. I set up meetings and catering services. I work with the Project Managers organizing picture files and their work reports. I set up and keep track of the Job Clock at each site. I organize the work binders for each project and set up the Scopes of work and Materials lists. I also deal with the Operations Manager in ordering all the supplies for the sites. That’s the short list.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
5 sick, 2 personal, 2 weeks vacation per year

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes–all the time. I loved working with the clients and our workers.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amN/A
8am to 9amN/A
9am to 10amStart work by checking on all the machines and making sure the bathroom is “working”. Begin working on updating any appropriate documents that we may need for the sites. Make sure all the job clocks are working and/or that the time sheets have been faxed over.
10am to 11amBegin payroll, AP/AR work, calling for payments.
11am to 12pmWork on updating our projects files and/or binders for the sites, including the photo file, scopes, material lists.
12pm to 1pmLunch break for 1/2 hour. Discuss any relevant information/problems with Project Manager and/or Operations Manager.
1pm to 2pmMeeting with President/VP of company, PM/OM, Site Supervisors, Shop Manager. Take the minutes and set up to send out to everyone.
2pm to 3pmUsually continue with my work until everything is updated.
3pm to 4pmWork with the driver for our sites on making sure all the job clocks are running properly and also make sure none of the workers have any issues and that the sites are run properly.
4pm to 5pmContinue with above. If any issues have arisen, deal with those.
5pm to 6pmContinue with above.
6pm to 7pmContinue with above. Check on all machinery. Check on ordering system. Check on inventory. Check on workers. Schedules for the next day.
7pm to 8pmN/A
8pm to 9pmN/A
9pm to 10pmN/A
10pm to 11pmN/A
11pm to 12amN/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Craigs List

What was the application process?
Submitted resume online and went in to interview and fill out the application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I met with one of the owners then met with the other and was hired.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
My experience in previous jobs and a series of questions regarding how I work with others or alone and if I was able to learn quickly.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I worked closely with the Operations Manager and one of the owners.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really–I just started helping out until I got the hang of doing whatever it was I needed to do on my own and was given more opportunites as the months went by.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. It has helped me in every job I’ve taken because I’ve used the office skills I gained from the school.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
That person would need a thick skin and tenacity.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Alot of all-around skills–Social, Organizational, and Technical

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No–if someone is a fast-learner, it wouldn’t be a problem

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Keep at it!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I wish to learn more about the construction field and be able to read plans and possibly become one of the Project Managers.

What are your current career goals?
I want to learn more about the construction field and possibly branch out into other areas of construction. I’m very interested in “Green Building” which we are starting to get into…

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s a very fulfilling career and anyone who is interested should definitely learn more about it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Office Manager/Human Resources/AP/AR/Payroll1 yr/1 mo42500Office Management, AP/AR, Human Resources Assistant, Payroll
Prior Job 2Office Manager/Human Resources1 yr50000Office Management and Human Resources Duties

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6Wood Tobe CoburnSecretarial Sciences
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.