Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 23) from Peabody, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Peabody, MA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary 41000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Peabody, MA
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a university in the Financial Aid department. About 30 employees working in this office. We provide service to about 8000 students.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Give advice to students on financing college. loans, grants, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
just right

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like working with students and coworkers to help students finance their college education

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office in a big city. i love it. i have my own office so its quiet.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 7

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
online application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
2 interviews with 2 different people. individual interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what makes you a good candidate for this job

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
network with college professionals

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
analytical, detailed oriented, understanding

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
some training, not necessarily a college degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
to get familar with college processes

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.