Financial Planner (Male, Age 31) in oviedo, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 31 who works as a Financial Planner in oviedo, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFinancial Planner
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationoviedo, NY
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
small business, roughly 7 full time employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
discuss investments & strategies with clients and prospects

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week vacation, health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes and it can be fun

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office, it’s seen better days

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 2
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amn/a
8am to 9amn/a
9am to 10amcatch up on news, messages & emails
10am to 11amhandle client inquiries
11am to 12pmhandle client inquiries
12pm to 1pmhandle client inquiries
1pm to 2pmpossibly lunch
2pm to 3pmpossibly lunch
3pm to 4pmhandle client inquiries
4pm to 5pmhandle client inquiries
5pm to 6pmhandle client inquiries
6pm to 7pmgo home
7pm to 8pmn/a
8pm to 9pmn/a
9pm to 10pmn/a
10pm to 11pmn/a
11pm to 12amn/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
careerbuilder

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, once by phone, once in person with 2 supervisors (separately)

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
somewhat

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
not really

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
don’t do it, the industry is very tough right now.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
creativity, solid math skills, the ability to think on their feet and explain complex subjects in simple terms.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
bachelor’s + post-grad work

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
work hard

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, allows me to work with clients and a good degree of flexability.

What are your current career goals?
have a job i enjoy that allows me to help people come up with solutions to fix problems.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1owner5n/a
Prior Job 2financial advisor1.5 yrs35000

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Univ. of Floridab.s. in ag. economics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
univ of floridaMA in agribusiness

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.