Staff Accountant (Male, Age 26) in bloomfield, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 26 who works as a Staff Accountant in bloomfield, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Staff Accountant
Salary $39,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location bloomfield, NY
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Non-profit credit union.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for accounting duties such as general ledger reconciliation, return items, research, entries, cash letter adjustments, and countless other duties.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
10 days PTO, 7 sick days, medical, dental, 401k, flexible spending

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I only like it when the person is decent. There are a lot of people that I feel I can’t work with and my supervisors know this.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office, in a cubicle. It’s alright, but it’s no personal office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Commute.
8am to 9am Check for return items using software provided. Print out reports for ACH Exceptions which are deposits to accounts that are rejected for some reason.
9am to 10am Work on the reports and return items, as well as any other minor problem that comes up.
10am to 11am Finish up the reports, make entry clearing balance of corresponding general ledger.
11am to 12pm Work on return items, charge member accounts and charge them fee.
12pm to 1pm Lunch time.
1pm to 2pm Process any mail that has come in, mostly payroll, but I also work on levies to accounts and report back to courts on the outcome
2pm to 3pm New student loan procedure meeting.
3pm to 4pm New student loan procedure meeting.
4pm to 5pm File away reports, payrolls, levies, and anything else. Lock up everything.
5pm to 6pm Commute.
6pm to 7pm Home
7pm to 8pm home
8pm to 9pm home
9pm to 10pm home
10pm to 11pm home
11pm to 12am home

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
temp agency

What was the application process?
The temp agency placed me. They hired me after 6 months of working there.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
No questions.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no, but only for the reasons in the previous question.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Very minimal. One of my pluses is that I’m able to learn things on my own which is why I was hired.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I feel my math degree sharpened my analytical skills

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
not applicable

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Apply at non profit and have an education.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You really need analytical skills. There are so many problems that I’ve solved using my keen analytical skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, but no one else in my department has any sort of education other than the supervisors.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient, and try to change things instead of doing things the way they were before you were there.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I wanted to get into accounting and this is a major stepping stone.

What are your current career goals?
Go back to school and get a CPA.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 Montclair State University Mathematical Sciences
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.