Research Technician 

(Female, Age 25) from Zionsville, IN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Research Technician in Zionsville, IN. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Research Technician
Salary $37,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Zionsville, IN
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in the research branch of a medical university.More than 500 people work in research in this university.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work in research.I basically contact people and get their medical adn family history for a particular disease and perform certain test adn analyse data

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
My job has a retirement plan 401k. I have 4 weeks of paid vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel well compensated for my current position

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am I get to work at 8.30 am.My work starts by planning the day ahead , organizing the list of people i have to contact
9am to 10am I have a meeting with my boss,where we discuss the progress of the research.
10am to 11am I contact my research subject and get their medical and family history in detail.
11am to 12pm I contact my research subject and get their medical and family history in detail.
12pm to 1pm Make reports of the details and analyse my reports
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm Feed in the data into my computer
3pm to 4pm DNA testing
4pm to 5pm DNA testing and other experiments
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.