Journalist (Female, Age 24) in los angeles, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Journalist in los angeles, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleJournalist
Salary$36,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationlos angeles, CA
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
writing articles for magazine

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
write articles for magazine. the subjects vary by request of editor

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. i enjoy it because writing is solitary but because im in an office i get to interact

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office= enjoy it because co-worker interaction

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 3
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amsleeping
8am to 9amarrive at the office
9am to 10amrecieve list of days activities from boss and start work
10am to 11ambegin to research information for article which entails several hours of research on google and other search engines
11am to 12pmcontinuing research and call a potential interviewee to ask if she would like to be interviewed for an upcoming article
12pm to 1pmlunch break. socialize with co-workers
1pm to 2pmstart to write article. todays is about exposing sweatshop practices in third world countries
2pm to 3pmreading what i have written so far and running it by a co-worker
3pm to 4pmediting current article. starting to get distracted and browse internet for inspiration
4pm to 5pmfinishing work for the day and packing up to go
5pm to 6pmleave office
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internship

What was the application process?
submitted resume and paper application and interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. one individual interview with current boss

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
my skills, my previous experience

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, she told me what my responsibilities would be ahead of time

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
in a way yes. i learned certain skills but some things can only be learned on the job

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes!

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
intern

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
writing ability

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes because they wont hire you otherwise

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
do whatever is offered to work your way up

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. i intend to work my way up the ladder in my current company

What are your current career goals?
editor of magazine

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
i enjoy it very much

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1intern3 monthsminimum wageoffice grunt work, filing, eventual article writing
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4uclacommunications
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.