Director Of Environmental Health 

(Female, Age 30) from McArthur, OH

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Director Of Environmental Health in McArthur, OH. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Director Of Environmental Health
Salary $36,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location McArthur, OH
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a local health department which employs about 60-70 people. The health department is a branch of local government.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Supervisor, we inspect food service operations, retail food establishments, conduct nuisance investigations, determine sizing and placement of septic systems and private water systems.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
PERS, 2 weeks vacation, 4.6 hours of sick per pay earned, 2 personal days per year and all holidays off

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, sometimes it is something that I enjoy and sometimes it isn’t so fun as people can be mean.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 4
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I get ready for work. I work only about 5 minutes away from home so I usually leave at about 5 or 10 til 8.
8am to 9am Turn my computer on. Check my schedule. Check my phone messages. Check my email. I always check for events like on because at times, it affects my job. Like during the anthrax threats, we were getting all these calls and had no idea that it was so widely announced over the world.
9am to 10am Onsite Investigation. Go to site, look at plat map. Evaluate where the owner would like to place home. Evaluate lay of land to determine best place to put septic system.
10am to 11am onsite investigation cont’d. Once we find a good location, must locate one more and have them dig test pits. We will evaluate the soil layer by layer and determine soil texture and structure.
11am to 12pm Go back to office and determine what sizing of leaching for septic to use based upon finding of our onsite investigation and prepare a letter.
12pm to 1pm lunch typically from 12-12:30 (this is unpaid) Then I will check phone messages again and email again.
1pm to 2pm Compile letters from open nuisances and send out notices of violation. This gives the homeowner a specific time on how long they have to correct a nuisance.
2pm to 3pm Well layout…go to location, evaluate and determine best place to put a well. There are specific restrictions on how far away from things the well must be and so we have to take several measurements to ensure accuracy.
3pm to 4pm Drive back to office. Write up well layout on the permit with detailed directions on where to install the well. Call homeowner and/or driller to let them know that the permit is ready.
4pm to 5pm Check messages on phone. Get computer shut down and everything filed and ready to go for tomorrow, leave work at 4:30
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
electronic resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I interviewed twice, once with administrator, supervisor and 2 board of health members and the second time with just the administrator. It was an individual interview and they asked me generic questions.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Reliable? Dependable? Work alone or as group? Able to handle conflict? Expected salary?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, adequate training was provided and job shadowing was allowed until I felt comfortable running programs on my own.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Once in my job, I had to take a three week course sponsored by the Ohio Department of Health and it explained all aspects of my job.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, I think that if I woudl have taken Environmental Health I would have been prepared.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
take environmental health as a major and volunteer at a health department while in college.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
ability to handle conflict, work with irate people and work in no so pleasant conditions.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes it is required

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
enjoy it, any job for that matter because if you aren’t having fun, it isn’t worth working

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes i hope to keep this as my career or at least stay in EH as I love it.

What are your current career goals?
i really don’t have any…I’m the boss what more could I ask for?

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Sanitarian 4.5 years 28000 same thing I do now, only not a supervisor
Prior Job 2 Customer Service Rep 1 year 26000 made loans, processed payments.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2 Capital University BA Biology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)