Elementary Teacher (Female, Age 25) in Rio Rancho, NM

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Elementary Teacher in Rio Rancho, NM. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleElementary Teacher
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week60
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRio Rancho, NM
Years Experience1 Year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
An elementary school consisting of grades K-5.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for my fourth grade class in order to fully educate them and assure that the future of our country is in good hands.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
N/A

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, i work with colleagues on a daily basis and I would not change anything. I love my job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at school
8am to 9am8:15 school starts, take attendance etc.
9am to 10amStart math and then go to PE
10am to 11amMath and language Arts. Work on stories
11am to 12pmSocial Studies
12pm to 1pmScience
1pm to 2pmLunch and recess
2pm to 3pmSchool dismissed at 3:05
3pm to 4pmfinish lesson planning, grade papers and grade level meetings
4pm to 5pmdrive home- stopped by the store to get groceries. (35 min drive)
5pm to 6pmWork out at the gym
6pm to 7pmEat dinner
7pm to 8pmcheck e-mails, watch TV
8pm to 9pmsleeP
9pm to 10pmSLEEP
10pm to 11pmSLEEP
11pm to 12amSLEEP

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Fill out application, submit it, get final transcritps from all colleges attended, then wait 10 weeks for receite in the mail.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. the principal and a committee.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I can’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes- student teaching of a year and a half and then college course work of 2 years.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
The college I attended did a fare job, but it seems other school i attended were more professional and organized. I was disappointed.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Receive an amazing education and get ready for HARD work. Teaching is not as it used to be. Elementary teachers have much more work then ever before. I put in a 7-6pm shift every day, M-F.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Passion for what you are doing so you’ll stay, patience and a good multi-tasker.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Definitly

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Hold on……remember all your education and acronyms!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
YEAH……this is where i want to be.

What are your current career goals?
Stay where I am or possibly transfer to another grade.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I LOVE IT!

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.9University of New MExicoElementary Ed
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
None

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.