Manager (Female, Age 40) in Rio Rancho, NM

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 40 who works as a Manager in Rio Rancho, NM. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleManager
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRio Rancho, NM
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
HP Corporate, roughly 500 employees at my building

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Training new employees, making sure everyone stays on task, mentor

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 1 week sick leave, United Health Care, 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated but could use a higher pay check

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with others on a daily basis. I’m rather neutral about it. I’m a social person so I enjoy mentoring

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office. Again, it can be dull at times but I’ve made some good friends and I get a nice window view

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 3
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 4

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
HP’s website

What was the application process?
Submitted a resume/online application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had an interview. I had one interview with one woman. Basically asking me the typical questions an interview would ask, how would solve this, what would you do if this happened.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
The only question I can remember is what I would do if there was a conflict amongst co-workers and how I would be a good leader and such.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I do. The training was thorough and I caught on quickly.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
How to fill out particular invoices and dealing with different government accounts.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Again, my job is basic. You just need basic communication skills with people and basic computer skills.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Apply online is the best way to go.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social/customer skills, capable of remembering quite a bit, basic computer skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not particularly. It’s basic computer work. You mainly just need to know how to talk to customers and use Excel

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just do your best and keep a positive attitude

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, I never had a career plan.

What are your current career goals?
Again, no plans, no career goals. After this long in these kinds of jobs, with no college education, I don’t see me getting very far. I recently got promoted, which is nice, but that’s about it.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I can’t say there is.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Customer Service5 years40000I dealt with customers problems with their phone service and with cancelations
Prior Job 2DriverLess than a yearOn/OffI can’t give a proper salary, because it was an on-off job and tips varied. I was a cab driver.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.