Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 27) from Indianapolis, IN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Indianapolis, IN. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $34,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 30
Company Size (not answered)
Location Indianapolis, IN
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
100+ Employees build tanks for other businesses

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Switchboard, file, fax, ms word and excel

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I love my job and I enjoy working with others. Team work is the best effort to get things done in a timely manner.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work great with everyone.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 1
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am I go in at 8am and turn on the phone. Then I check to see what mail needs to go out and seal and stamp all mail. Then I check the fax machine for all faxes that have come in and distibute the faxes to the right person. And after that I sit down and start filing some papers and if the phone rings I answer it.
9am to 10am I scan all papers for other departments and save them in files pdf form it does take while so I am working on this until its time to leave.
10am to 11am
11am to 12pm
12pm to 1pm
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
temporary service

What was the application process?
electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes individual interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I dont remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Come in and fill out an application and its best if u know someone that works there.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Phone skills, customer service, ms word and excel filing and data entry.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be professional and always smile

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes I enjoy it.

What are your current career goals?
Move up into a higher position.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Its a good company to work for and I enjoy it/

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 clerical 4years 44000 ANswer phones, filing, data entry invoicing etc
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.6

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.