(Female, Age 21) from charlotte, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 21 who works as a Accountant in charlotte, NC. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Accountant
Salary $32,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location charlotte, NC
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Currently work for an A.C. and heating company. It employs about 100 people.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Responsible for keeping track of accounts recievable as well as payabable.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I like it because it makes it easier to get things done. I have really been able to make new friends at work as well.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office, it is great because i can get away from home and be able to work with others in a team. There is more support at the office so you are not stuck doing everything on your own.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am arrived at work at 8:30
9am to 10am Checked messages and collected all bills that came in the mail the previous day.
10am to 11am Added all new accounts payables to spreadsheet. Printed report.
11am to 12pm Added all new accounts recievables and printed off report on those past due.
12pm to 1pm Lunch.
1pm to 2pm Attended a meeting.
2pm to 3pm Made sure that what the UPS truck brought in matched inventory that was requested.
3pm to 4pm Called supplier concerning missing items.
4pm to 5pm Left work at 4:30
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, one individual interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what can i bring to the organization and what can the oraganization bring to me. I was also asked how much I expected to make as well as how much I had made in my previous job.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, i was given training on the phone system so that i could help out with that as well as the software

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, i was given training on the phone system so that i could help out with that as well as the software

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, an accounting background helped me to be more organized as well as detail oriented.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get a bachelor’s degree, be detail oriented and very organized. Do not settle for anything less than what you want.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organizational as well as be a detail oriented person. Be able to multitask as well as work under pressure.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, at least a bachelor’s degree in accounting

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be very organized, detail oriented and be able to work under pressure.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, i want to be an accountant and would like to go on to graduate school to become a certified public accountant.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to become a certified public accountant.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I would love for my company to help me pay for my graduate school.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 accountant 1 28000 accountant
Prior Job 2 accountatn 1 year 27000 accounant/ accounts payable

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6 UNCC accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.