Certified Medical Assistant (Female, Age 24) in mount olive, AL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Certified Medical Assistant in mount olive, AL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCertified Medical Assistant
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationmount olive, AL
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a family physician office. There is about 35-55 people employeed there.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My duties and responsibilities include taking patients medical histories and recording vital signs, explaining treatment procedures to patients, preparing patients for examination, and assisting the physician during the examination. I also collect and prepare laboratory specimens and perform laboratory tests, prepare and administer medications, authorize drug refills, draw blood, prepare patients for x rays, take electrocardiograms, remove sutures, and change dressings.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical, Dental, Vision, and Life Insurance; 401k, Flexible Scheduling, Direct Deposit, Vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel well compensated at my job.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I have to work with many different people on a daily basis. I really enjoy being able to work with a variety of different people because it makes everyday different.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 4
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI woke up at about 6:30 and got ready to go to work. I left my house at 7:30 and arrived at work at 8am.
8am to 9amOnce I got to work, I pulled patients charts who had appointments for that day. I made sure the exam rooms were clean and that all necessary supplies were in place.
9am to 10amAt 9, I welcomed the first patient back to the exam room and took their complaint, weight, height, temp, blood pressure, and pulse. Because I cannot disclose any information about patients, I am not going to be able to complete this section of the study in great detail.
10am to 11amI did this all day until 11.
11am to 12pmI took lunch.
12pm to 1pmAt 12, I continued with seeing patients.
1pm to 2pmI did this all day until 5 when I left work.
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
I submitted my resume along with a paper application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did have to interview for the job. I was interviewed once by the office manager which was an individual interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked questions like “What makes you the most qualified for this job?”, “What are some of your strengths and weaknesses?”, “Can you handle numerous tasks at once?”

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, but I was pretty much already prepared for the job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No, I was already trained for the job.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Absolutely, without having went to Medical Assisting School I would have not been at all prepared for the job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend narrowing down their search first by deciding whether they wanted to work at a hospital or a private practice. I would also recommend searching jobs posted on the internet as well as local newspapers. Talking to friends and family is also a good way to find out about jobs.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A person persuing this career should have a number of skills. The most important being excellent social skills, speaking and listening skills, and time management skills. It is so important for a person to have excellent social skills in this line of work because you are dealing with people at all times of the day. Speaking and listening skills are important because you must be able to talk to others in order to convey information effectively and you must listen carefully to what patients are saying in order to understand why they are in the office. Time management skills are important because there are so many different things that have to be completed on a daily basis and without using time management skills duties could get left neglected.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, most employers prefer graduates of formal programs in medical assisting.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would just tell them to take it one day at a time.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I plan to stay at this job for as long as possible.

What are your current career goals?
My current career goals are to stay at my current job for as long as possible and then maybe moving to an office that performs more specialized services.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I think I have covered just about everything.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Wallace State Community CollegeAssociates in Medical Assisting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.