Technical Coordinator. (Female, Age 25) in Wyandotte, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Technical Coordinator. in Wyandotte, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTechnical Coordinator.
Salary$27,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWyandotte, MI
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Its a very large company in the chemical industry.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I coordinate different activities in the colarants deparment of our company. My duties include notifying internal and external customer of new products, product changes, creating technical data sheets, working and creating databases.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
None

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job entails both working with others and working alone and I enjoy it. Sometimes it is nice to have control over your projects and still have opinion/support of co-workers.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. It is a good location but I would like to work from home sometimes.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amThis is the time that I take to get ready and get to work. If I am at work before 8am, I try to begin preparing for the day by drinking coffee and checking my email.
8am to 9amIf I haven’t already, I check my email and prioritize my response. I also check my voicemail and inbox to help me prioritize my day and see if there is any change of plan. This is also the time when I finish bulk of my day’s work.
9am to 10amI go through my priorities, notifying customers being the first one about any product changes. To do that, I have to first compile a list of customers using a sales report. I analyze the report dating back two years to see which customers have ordered the certain products. I then use another software to pull out addresses and contact information for customers.
10am to 11amOnce I have all the contact information and addresses for customers, I create a template letter and use mail merge to create a lot of letters. I then print out addressed envelopes and mail them out.
11am to 12pmThen I send our distributors and internal customers as well as product managers the notification about product changes for the day or week. Sometimes there are a lot and can take a few days especially getting all the data. I also have to notify material planners to order the modified product.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmSafety meeting where we discuss any incidents for the month, any issues that anyone is having. There is also a time slot for a presentation and every month it is a different person presenting.
2pm to 3pmI use this time to ship out any sample orders or literature orders which can also contain import or exports and take a lot more time to process. Exporting materials requires to follow international policies and a lot of different steps.
3pm to 4pmAnswer phone calls regarding product issues/ product specifications. Also direct calls that do not belong to our department to the correct department.
4pm to 5pmTowards the end of the day, I like to prioritize for the next day and make sure there aren’t any pending requests. For example, if I had made a request to someone to forward me data and they haven’t yet, I use this time to remind them.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Staffing company

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and then filled out an application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I had one short interview with my manager. He asked me questions about my previous work and how it can relate to my current job.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
My manager asked me questions about my previous work and how it can relate to my current job. Also gave me advice on how to ride up the lader at work.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I needed more training on the products that we have which I never received.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. I had to take a advanced database class.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I think a bachelors in management information systems really helped me get a information technology related job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Learn a lot of computer skills and technical writing.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They difinately need to have technical skills, organization skills and an eye for detail.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, college degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To work hard at college and get internships because they prepare you for the real world.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it is the first step.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to go into business analysis or marketing which is a completely different field than what I am in right now.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3University of MichiganBachelors – MIS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.