Machine Operator (Female, Age 51) in woodbury, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 51 who works as a Machine Operator in woodbury, NJ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMachine Operator
Salary$27,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
Locationwoodbury, NJ
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
i work for an international company that makes all kinds of auto and truck parts not to mention boat parts

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
run various machines and make parts by hand.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health and dental.i didnt sign up for vision at this time

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
over compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i work with others but not at my particular station.i work alone at my machine but others are right nearby at their machines

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
i work in a factory.it is very clean for a factory environment

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8ami woke up at 8:30 this morning
8am to 9amwent to the grocery store while there i got a call from my sister in another state
9am to 10amcame home put groceries away let the dogs out did dishes and did some laundry
10am to 11amgetting ready to go to work. went to mcdonalds came home changed clothes and went to work
11am to 12pmgot to work set up machine and got ready to work.swept floor nukmerous times had a weekly meeting
12pm to 1pmcontinued to make parts. talk to coworkers about job responsibilities
1pm to 2pmtook a quick 10 minute break another meeting came back to work area changed machine for another job
2pm to 3pmlistened to my radio for a while took a quick smoke break and called home
3pm to 4pmnothing really special at my job just the same old stuff maske parts
4pm to 5pmmaking parts and cleaning the area
5pm to 6pmcleaning up and making sure parts are made right
6pm to 7pmsomeone dumped the grease gun and grease shot out everywhere went to lunch for 30 minutes
7pm to 8pmcleaning up grease everywhere
8pm to 9pmmeeting with boss
9pm to 10pmgetting paperwork together and getting ready to leave
10pm to 11pmsweeping area
11pm to 12am11″30 quitting time by 12 midnight i am home for the night

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
group application we all filled out the application and did the testing process it took about 2 hours

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
i had an interview with the human resources person and my current boss.it took about 1 1/2 hours

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
if they called my previous boss what would they say about me why i think i may be right for this job

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes i was in training for 3 months and still going to monthly training lessons

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
hands on training to run different machines

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
i am older and my math skills werent up to par

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to a temp agency and work for something like 1000 hours and they may hire you on.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills you have to have in order to work in a group environment,orgazational skills is a must as is math.we use a lot of math in my job.a lot of self disapline to know not to take longer breaks stuff like that

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
you have to have a high school diploma or ged

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
give it a big chance cause it wont be easy just starting out.i was on unemployment for over a year when i got this job.the job i had before i was there for over 12 years

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes because i need health insurance for my son

What are your current career goals?
i hope to get some computer training which my company pays for

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
just because it is a factory it isnt dirty i chose this work because when i started work not many women were working in factorys.i thought if i get trainig i can always have a job

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1forklift driver12 yrs12.95 hrworking on the floor but mostly material handler work
Prior Job 2radiation worker5 yrs15.00 hrdecontaminate radiation from the plant

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.