Financial Aid Assistant 

(Female, Age 25) from Deerfield, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Financial Aid Assistant in Deerfield, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Financial Aid Assistant
Salary $25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location Deerfield, NY
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in a Financial Aid Office of a private Christian university–we have about 2500 students and about 150 staff.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation/sick leave, health/dental/vision insurance, 403b retirement plan, tuition waiver

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with others in different offices and also assist students. I generally like this a lot about my job, but sometimes it can get overwhelming.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office, I like the environment, but I don’t have windows in my office, as it’s in a basement, which I wish was different.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 2

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
paper application and submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Start at the entry level and just get more knowledgeable about financial aid and federal regulations.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organizational skills, social skills, financial aid knowledge

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, experiencial knowledge is necessary, but you gain it as you go

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be willing to learn constantly.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.