Office Manager (Female, Age 26) in Spring Creek, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Office Manager in Spring Creek, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$22,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSpring Creek, NY
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a company that sells safety equipment to mining companies.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I answer the phones, type correspondence, deal with customers that come in the door, package and ship product, and also assist with the accounting.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week vacation, health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I do work with others on a daily basis, and I do like working with others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office and I enjoy my office environment.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amat home
8am to 9amArrive at work at 8:30 a.m. Check fax machine for any orders that have arrived and also check e-mail for any orders that have arrived.
9am to 10amInput any received order. Answer telephones. Receive in any merchandise that has come in from UPS.
10am to 11amAnswer phones. An occasional meeting with coworkers.
11am to 12pmGet items ready for shipment
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmReturn from lunch. Ship items.
2pm to 3pmMeet with chief financial officer to learn bookkeeping procedures.
3pm to 4pmMeet with chief financial officer to learn bookkeeping procedures
4pm to 5pmLeave work at 4:00 p.m.
5pm to 6pmat home
6pm to 7pmat home
7pm to 8pmat home
8pm to 9pmat home
9pm to 10pmat home
10pm to 11pmat home
11pm to 12amat home

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Word of mouth from a friend

What was the application process?
Talked to owner of the business, had an interview and submitted a resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I had one individual interview with the owner and supervisor of employees.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked questions about previous jobs….i.e., what tasks I performed, what computer programs I know, what I was paid.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. My employer was extremely helpful.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I just did on the job training. I learned from people at my work as I did tasks.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I feel the training I received as working as a legal secretary helped me obtain my position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not have an internship.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Sumbit resumes to different businesses in the area…even if they are not advertising.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organization skills, knowledge of computers and computer programs used in an office, social skills, knowledge of shipping companies and how to ship items.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient in learning the programs and procedures used in the office.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I plan to stay with this company as long as I can.

What are your current career goals?
Right now I am working on being the “bookkeeper” for my company. After my kids are older I would like to take some college classes.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I really enjoy what I am doing.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1legal secretary7 months30000legal secretary
Prior Job 2Attorney6 years28000legal secretary

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
N/AN/AN/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.