Security Guard 

(Male, Age 37) from Fort Myers, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 37 who works as a Security Guard in Fort Myers, FL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Security Guard
Salary $19,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location Fort Myers, FL
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Diamond security is a security guard company of about 20 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I guard other companys that ask for our help.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
You usually work alone on security jobs. Once in a great while a supervisor will check up on me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Work locations change quite frequentely.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with the owner of the company.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Have iI ever worked security before and have I ever been guilty of an felony.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, he told me what to do in case of trouble and who to call.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
You have to go to security school for training and to get your D liscence.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, for writing a report every night.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Not applicable.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
The first thing you need to do is get a D liscence from a reputable security school.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You should be fairly fit and have good writing skills for daily duty reports.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Just need good writing skills.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t do anything to get your self hurt. Call the police first thing.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes this is part of my career plan. I hope to some day be supervisor.

What are your current career goals?
I hope to be supervisor for this company soon.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Heavy equipment operator 2 years 600 a week I drove a loader or trac hoe.
Prior Job 2 specialist 4 years 1400 a month keeping the world free and safe.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.7

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.