Medical Assistant (Female, Age 24) in Mobile, AL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Medical Assistant in Mobile, AL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Assistant
Salary$18,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMobile, AL
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a clinic that specializes in specialty medicine including burns and wounds, orthopedics, neurology, ent, and trauma. I work for doctors in each field. Each day of the week we have a different specialty. There are more than 60 doctors and residents and 25 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I take vital signs, give injections, dress wounds, draw blood, assist with minor surgery procedures, and check patients in and out.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week vacation, 2 days sick leave, BCBS insurance, no retirement plan

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, i work with the public on a daily basis. I enjoy my job and wouldn’t tade it for any other job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGet kids ready for school and take them
8am to 9amGo to work. Sort through yesterdays patients charts that have missing data. Work first patients up
9am to 10amWork patients up;assist doctors with procedures
10am to 11amRun and get coffee at hospital next door. Answer patient questions and assist doctors.
11am to 12pmWork patients up;assist doctors. Finish with patiets.Clean up rooms.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmWork afternoon patients up;assist doctors;answer incoming calls; record patient data
2pm to 3pmassist doctors;answer incoming calls; record patient data; process x-rays requests and get patient records
3pm to 4pmWork afternoon patients up;assist doctors;answer incoming calls; record patient data;plan for next days patients and check charts for information thats missing
4pm to 5pmWork afternoon patients up;assist doctors;answer incoming calls; record patient data. Finish up with evening patients and prepare for the next day.
5pm to 6pmOff
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
resume and online application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, one interview with supervisor

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What are my good and bad qualities? Can I work in a fast paced environment? What medical procedures do I know how to do?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no-I had two training days before I started that truely explained nothing to me. I had to jump in and learn as I went.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, college bachelors degree-medical classes

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, without i would have been messed up

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes, i learned more on externship than I did in school.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Hard work and dedication goes a long way. Also you must enjoy any job you have to some extent to be able to stand going to work every day.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
People friendly, medical knowledge, bedside manner

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes atleast a bachelors degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Keep at it and don’t give up. Know that you will face mean people and you just have to deal with it as part of the job.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, i want to get experience in management before managing a pharmaceutical company.

What are your current career goals?
Becoming a drug rep

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I enjoy it

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Healthcare Manager1 year16000Working with patients who are critically ill and injured
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.99VCOHealth Care Management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.