Cashier (Female, Age 24) in Riverton, CT

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Cashier in Riverton, CT. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCashier
Salary$17,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRiverton, CT
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a large gas station chain. Each company has at least 5 employees and has at least 15 in each state.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My duties include either opening or closing the store, cash register operation, customer assistance, light cleaning, and audits.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Paid sick days after a required amount of hours have been worked

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes it does and I do very much enjoy it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
its a small gas station, handcart and it’s a nice quiet neighborhood.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
They had a sign on their door

What was the application process?
It was a short application, then they performed a background check, and then a tox screen.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, it was brief. The manager asked about my previous experience and why I thought I qualified for the position. He asked if I had reliable transportation and if I would feel comfortable closing or opening the store. He asked if I graduated high school because that is a requirement for the position.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked if I felt I could open and close the STORE,WHERE I had worked previously, and when you availability would be.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I do. They waited for me to tell them when I felt comfortable on my own. They would’ve let me train as long as I needed to(to an extent) they went over everything with me very thoroughly.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes there was. Since I had already worked in this business they had me train for about 4 days I shadowed a fellow employee during their daily routine and then they supervised me while I tried for myself. I worked for 8 hours each shift and quickly caught on.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
In some ways. Mostly with basic math nd working with others helped a great del.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
They should walk in to various stations and ask if they are hiring, even if they say no, one should fill out an application anyway because these type of jobs can have a high turnover rate.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They should be proficient with cash handling as well as being able to be social with people.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Just a high school diploma and basic math skills

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure you’re prepared to handle all types of people.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It wasn’t at first, but now I realize that it can be because I am constantly seeing all different types of people with different walks of life and learning how to talk to them and interact with them, so it’ll definitely help with the career of a therapist.

What are your current career goals?
To pay off my debts and go back to school to get my degree

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No thanks.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales associate6 months8.75 an hourCalling customers asking the to renew their contract Nx purchase new products
Prior Job 2Loss prevention2 years10.85/hourApprehending shoplifters, auditing several departments, running and organization of safety meetings.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.7Northwestern CT Community CollegeLiberal arts pathway to psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.