Mechanic (Female, Age 20) in Cedar City, UT

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 20 who works as a Mechanic in Cedar City, UT. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMechanic
Salary$13,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCedar City, UT
Years Experience1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Walmart Tire lube express

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I put new tires on vehicals

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
one week vacation, molina healthcare

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I love my co-workers

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Shop, I love working there, the smell isnt too great though

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amn/a
8am to 9amn/a
9am to 10amn/a
10am to 11amn/a
11am to 12pmWork at the front desk taking phone calls and helping constumers
12pm to 1pmWorking on cars
1pm to 2pmworking on cars
2pm to 3pmworking on cars
3pm to 4pmlunch
4pm to 5pmworking on cars
5pm to 6pmworking on cars
6pm to 7pmworking on cars
7pm to 8pmcleaning up and going home
8pm to 9pmn/a
9pm to 10pmn/a
10pm to 11pmn/a
11pm to 12amn/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
Electronic aplication

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
2 interviews by two different managers

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, they tought me what I needed to know for what I do

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes I learned from other mechanics

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Learn basic mechanic skills and be willing to work hard

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills because you have to work with constomers who want their car done right and they can get out of control

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You can learn as you go but you would be better off with basic training

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Pay attention, if you do anything wrong its on your head

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, this is what I want to do

What are your current career goals?
n/a

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
n/a

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1people greeter2 years12500greeting people at walmart
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:n/a

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/an/an/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/an/an/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.