Animal Caretaker 

(Female, Age 31) from Napoleon, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 31 who works as a Animal Caretaker in Napoleon, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Animal Caretaker
Salary $7,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 30
Company Size (not answered)
Location Napoleon, NY
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work independently and take care of the animals for the Biology department at the school.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Feed/clean/care for animals; compile data on animals; clean stockroom.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
It is something I enjoy so it is fie to me.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I usually work alone.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Small room. Could be bigger.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I clock in. I begin by filling all water dishes for all animals and food dishes for all animals. I record any data (what has died, what is sick, etc.) in the log book. I look over the notes from the night before.
8am to 9am I clean out the cages of the animals. I tend to any sick animals (quarantine and medicate). I ensure that each animal is clean, happy and healthy.
9am to 10am I clean the animal room itself. I sweep and mop the floor, stock the food, take note of and order any low supplies.
10am to 11am I take a lunch/smoke break.
11am to 12pm I refill water dishes as needed. I check on sick animals.
12pm to 1pm I take notes on the animals (behavior, health, etc.). I then transfer the handwritten notes to a computer.
1pm to 2pm I spot clean the cages. I talk to any students who would like to come in and see what I do.
2pm to 3pm I finish up any last minute work I have and get ready to leave.
3pm to 4pm I clock out for the day.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Job board posting.

What was the application process?
Submit application and resume, interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, by two different department heads.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I cannot recall.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
For me, yes. I have done this type of work before.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really. They introduced me to what I would be doing and I pretty much just read the manual for the rest.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I am a Biology major.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Study. Apply. Know your animals.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Animal knowledge so they know how to take care of the animals.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not much, no.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be confident in yourself.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes; I plan to work at a zoo

What are your current career goals?
I want to work at a zoo as an animal caretaker

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a stepping stone to the future

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Owner 1 year 0 Owned and ran my own pet store.
Prior Job 2 Cashier 1 season 2000 Ran cash register, customer service, stocking

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.75

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Bowling Green State University Biology-BS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)