Optician (Female, Age 38) in Portland, OR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Optician in Portland, OR. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOptician
Salary$69,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPortland, OR
Years Experience1 week

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am currently working in a private practice Optometric office owned and run by one Doctor and his wife. All together there are five of us who work there.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I help patients with choosing eyewear that will best fit their optical wants & needs, I check in all glasses orders that come in to make sure the glasses are made correctly, I adjust & repair glasses, I teach contact lens insertion & removal sessions & I do back up duties for our front desk person.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
At this time I do not have benefits as I have just started with this company & I get benefits my husband’s employer.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job does entail me to work with others during the day. I really love working with people as I am a people person.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 7
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life ofโ€ฆ

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amN/A
8am to 9amArrive to work at 8:30 & start checking in glasses orders. Finish checking in glasses at 8:42 & am ready to help the first glasses patient of the day. My patient comes out of the doctor’s office at 8:47 & I proceed to help them pick out eyeglasses. After we have made a selection, I explain all of the lens options that I believe would work for them. I then proceed to take measurements to make sure the glasses RX will work for them.
9am to 10am The glasses order is now ready to be entered into our computer ro order the glasses from the lab. I take the patients payment, print out the receipt & proceed to order the glasses online from our lab. Once the order has been made & confirmed, I put the information in a tray & put it in the area of the office for glasses on order.
10am to 11amThe next patient at 10:17 is a first time contact lens wearer so I take them into the contact lens training room where I teach the patient how to put a contact lens on & how to take it off. This can be quite time consuming so it does take this patient about 45 minutes to get it on & take it off.
11am to 12pmI now go over how to clean the contacts properly & how to store them. Then the final step is teaching them about the wearing schedule & setting up a follow up appointment with the doctor to make sure they are the right fit & prescription.
12pm to 1pmIt is now lunch time & I make sure everything has been ordered before going to lunch.
1pm to 2pmBack from lunch. I see the next patient & get them into a new pair of sunglasses. I explain their choices in lens options & colors & we pick an appropriate pair that will work the way the patient wants it to.
2pm to 3pmI collect payment from the patient & proceed to order sunglasses from the lab. I wrap up the frames in a bag & get it ready to go into the lab’s delivery.
3pm to 4pmI am learning the computer system from a co-worker & entering in doctor’s billing codes. I am helping to verify patients’ insurance coverage for the next day.
4pm to 5pm I do any final glasses checks that need to be done & get the office ready for the next days business. I help pull patients’ charts & get the back break room in order. My day is done, it’s time to leave & fight traffic on the way home. ๐Ÿ™‚
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found my current job from a job posting on the internet.

What was the application process?
My application process was sending in my resume & cover letter & setting up a job interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I interviewed for my current job. It was pretty informal since I lived out of state at the time so it basically consisted of a few phone conversations & then when I moved to the state I was applying for the job in, I had a brief formal interview with one of the owners.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked about my job experience in the field & the rest of the interview was pretty much informal. We had a very nice conversation about the location of the clinic ( which I grew up around ) & the remodeling they have done on it.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I feel like my employer is properly training me for my job. They are being very patient helping me understand their computer system.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Basically, the only training I am receiving from my current job is on their computer system. I have been in this field for 13 years so did not need to be trained in other areas.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I have not had formal schooling for the career I am in, But I came to this job with 13 years experience in this field from working in different optical offices.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Pick up the yellow pages in your city & start calling places of interest to you to see if they have any openings, check on craigslist for job postings as well. Also, if you know someone in the field that you want to get into, ask them if they know of anyone hiring & see if they will put in a good word for you. It is always important to network when trying to find a job.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
To get into a field like mine, you really need to be a people person because you are interacting with the public a lot. There are some places out there that will train you ( entry level), so the skill set will come with experience, but make sure you represent yourself well ie..dress professionally, be neat in your appearance, be clean (meaning, BATHE!) & don’t have a bad attitude towards learning from someone whether they are older or younger than you. Respect others & they will respect you.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I pretty much fell into my profession by accident, but I have excelled at it for 13 years because I learned everything I could about it & am constantly trying to upgrade & improve my skills. I believe if you have enough drive & determination, you can accomplish anything.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
The best advice I can give is be open to learning from others whether they are younger, older, male, female & so on. I have seen many people come into my field & not succeed because they had preconceived ideas of how they thought they should learn something & from whom. Be open to learning your trade no matter how it represents itself to you.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
My current employer is part of my career plan as I see it as a place I would like to work in until I retire.

What are your current career goals?
I am going to attend some continuing education courses this year so I can stay on top of all the new technology & just have a great year1 ๐Ÿ™‚

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1optician4 1/2 years34000Worked with patients to meet their optical needs, verified insurance coverage for patients & final checked all glasses orders.
Prior Job 2optician1 1/2 years29000Worked with patients to meet their optical needs, verified insurance coverage for patients & final checked all glasses orders.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/an/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/an/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.