Project Manager 

(Female, Age 28) from Arlington Hts, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Project Manager in Arlington Hts, IL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Project Manager
Salary $60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Arlington Hts, IL
Years Experience 1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
About 30000 employees with locations worldwide, specialize in consulting and risk management

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Working with our clients to ensure projects are on time, on track and being done correctly.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 Weeks paid vacation, 5 Sick days, STD, LTD, BCBS PPO, Dental, 401K, Pension

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I do enjoy this as it is more engaging to interact with others rather than a computer all day. It helps you learn how to work with people as everyone has a different personality. You can also learn from others on how to do your job better!

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 4

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes – Phone interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Mainly how do I work with others and how I keep on task and on track.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes – Prior work experience in the same industry

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No – My degree is in Computer Science and Math. No people skills, documentation skills or other skills were taught to me – learned it all on the job!

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You need a degree and/or the job experience, you can’t just go and get a project management job! Start off with an analyst job, learn the job and expand on the skills you learn in that position.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You need to be able to be well rounded, to hacve good people skills and be technical. You also need to be able to multi-task as you will often be working on multi projects with tight deadlines all at once!

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Start off with an analyst job, learn the job and expand on the skills you learn in that position

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4.11/5.0

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4 Northeastern Illinois U Computer Science and Math B.S.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.