Project Engineer (Male, Age 23) in Pomona, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 23 who works as a Project Engineer in Pomona, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleProject Engineer
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPomona, CA
Years Experience1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Medium Size (2,000apx) employees, Civil consulting firm specializing in site planning and preparation with street improvements

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I complile and draw plans and plan sets, work with clients to insure quality, and conduct site research

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week vaca, 2 days sick, variable health, stock options and 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes i work with others daily, i enjoy this as I enhances the work environment

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGet to work, coffee, breakfast, check and respond to emails/voicemails
8am to 9amwork on drawings/projects
9am to 10amwork on drawings/projects, go to restroom
10am to 11amwork on drawings/projects
11am to 12pmmeet with supervisory to discuss clients demands and new construction problems
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmwork on drawings/projects
2pm to 3pmwork on drawings/projects
3pm to 4pmwork on drawings/projects
4pm to 5pmwork on drawings/projects
5pm to 6pmHome
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
career fair

What was the application process?
submit resume, 2 interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
2 interviews, 1st with lower manager, 2ns with senior super and group

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
i cannot recall

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they gave me the tools and lessons i needed before i took on full responsibilities

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, a BS in CE, and years on internship experience

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Of course

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Of course

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
compile a resume, get a BS in CE, get internships before you graduate

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills, general knowledge of the field

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
of course, a bs in ce

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be diligent, work hard, go far

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, this company allows for quick growth and fast track to management

What are your current career goals?
to become a PE with a PHD in Civil Eng. and to own my own firm

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nope

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Resident Advisor1yr15000Resident advisor in dorms supervising students
Prior Job 2intern3mon16/hrIntern/PE responsibilities

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3Cal Poly PomonaCivil Engineering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.