Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 51) from Tempe, AZ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 51 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Tempe, AZ. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Tempe, AZ
Years Experience 1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
100 people, bakery and sales staff for brownie company

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Word and Excel data entry

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I like it very much.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 8
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am Begin work. Look at emails from interoffice. Organize thte day by prioritizing.
9am to 10am Data entry of orders. Training session for new orders.
10am to 11am Data entry and proof prior orders. Break at about 10:00.
11am to 12pm Data entry and proof. Recheck emails.
12pm to 1pm Lunch from 12:30-1:00. Daily meeting with staff. Data entry of new orders.
1pm to 2pm Data entry. Recheck new orders and proofing of existing orders.
2pm to 3pm Recheck emails. Process invoices.
3pm to 4pm Proofing and reconciling of orders.
4pm to 5pm Leave at 4:30. Recheck work and get ready for tomorrow.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
electronic application, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, one on one interview, short testing session

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
when can you start, available for hours/days, trained, went over resume

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, three days of on the job and in class

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Be trained in word and excel, go to for the best website. Can do a resume on line and submit it.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organization, detail skills, outgoing, computer literate

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, training for a specific purpose

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
get organized, trained, keep on applying every day

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, only temporary position.

What are your current career goals?
to pursue my own business

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
have clear cut goals from the beginning and don’t get up on those.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 admin. asst. 4 years 15 varied positions, including general office, accounting, receptionist, data entry
Prior Job 2 researcher 2 years 12 research of credit reports, auto financing information, payment history

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 Texas A & I interior design
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.85 Univ. of Phoenix MBA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.