Customer Care Provider (Female, Age 37) in Oak Harbor, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Customer Care Provider in Oak Harbor, WA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCustomer Care Provider
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationOak Harbor, WA
Years Experience1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Alpine Access and am subcontracted to Microsoft XBox Live.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I provide online support to XBox Live and XBox 360 users.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical and vision insurance + 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I do work with others in a virtual sense. This is a telecommute job, so I work from home which is nice.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home. I like it because I dont have to get dressed or anything. I can wear slippers to work if I want.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Online

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and application online.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I did interview. I had a single telephone interview that took about an hour to complete. It involved some demonstration of my ability to provide service and navigate the internet.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked about work history, what I was currently doing, what did I know about the company. I was asked to open several websites and asked questions about navigating them or to find specific information. I was also asked to open the product site and do a mock service call.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, the training is great.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, a month of training to learn about the product and the software.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really, you dont need much education for this job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Do your research! There are a lot of work from home scams. General rule is, if they ask you to pay, they are bogus.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
People skills and some computer knowledge.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, but I am on the backside of my career path and doing what has to be done to take care of my family.

What are your current career goals?
I intend to continue working from home.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It takes a certain kind of person to do this job. You need to be able to stay on task on your own and that can be hard.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1CCP1 month30000Answer calls to XBox Live and XBOx 360 customer support line and assist users with troubleshooting various hardware and software issues.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Skagit Valley CollegeMedical coding and billing course
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.