Security Entrance Officer (Female, Age 24) in Seattle, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Security Entrance Officer in Seattle, WA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSecurity Entrance Officer
Salary$10,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSeattle, WA
Years Experience1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Non-profit hospital for kids. 3000+ employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Monitor visitors coming into the hospital, respond to security calls and de-escalate situations.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental, vision, perks such as discounts at retailers

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, daily basis. This is something I like about my job because I like to interact with all kinds of people, and I like to help kids.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amNight shift. Do a ground patrol of the Ronald McDonald house every 90 minutes. Basically keep yourself visible and make sure nothing out of the ordinary is happening. Try to make parent’s/families stay more comfortable. Secure the area by locking doors. Report any maintenance issues. Contact the main campus for rides to the hospital.
8am to 9am
9am to 10amdomestic violence class for security. Basically how to spot it and how to report it.
10am to 11am
11am to 12pm
12pm to 1pm
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, 1 individual interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
questions related to customer service, team work, accountability.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes and no. some things are only learned when actually working so not all the info can be given during training.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, 160 on on the job training with people who have been there for at least a year.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, 4 year degree in criminal justice and sociology made me understand the job better.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get a criminal justice degree at a local college, or get an internship with a place that is criminal justice related.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills because you have to interact with people daily and decision making skills because you have to be on your toes with decision making.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be ready for a lot of information to be thrown at you to be successful in your job.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, will be going to get my masters then become a social worker. Security works closely with social work at my employment

What are your current career goals?
Social worker

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
it’s fulfilling

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1On-call staff1 year10.65/hrstaff at an inpatient treatment center for chemically dependent adolescents.
Prior Job 2Group reservations Agent1 1/2 years29000Input group/transient reservations, answer phones

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.98

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.58Washington State UniversityCriminal Justice and Soc, BA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.