Clinical Social Worker And Clinician / Therapist (Female, Age 29) in New York, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Clinical Social Worker And Clinician / Therapist in New York, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleClinical Social Worker And Clinician / Therapist
Salary$35,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNew York, NY
Years Experience1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Established in 1957, YAI/National Institute for People with Disabilities (NIPD) is an award-winning, not-for-profit health and human services agency for people with developmental and learning disabilities. Our mission is to build brighter futures for the people we serve and their families through state-of-the-art programs that help to build skills, expand opportunities, and enhance community living.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I have a split position: 1) I work 1/2 time for Crisis Intervention providing short-term case management, information and referral, in-home crisis counseling and advocacy for individuals w/ intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families. 2) I work 1/2 time in the Article 16 clinic conducted Psychosocial Evaluations, Mental Health Screenings and Individual Psychotherapy w/ individuals w/ intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Full healthcare (medical and dental), plus $535.00 HRA for medical related expenses.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes – I work with a variety of people throughoutthe day. I like the interaction I have.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office as well as in the field in consumer’s homes. I like that I get to go out into the community and work in people’s homes.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amStart work at 9:00. Conducted Psychosocial Evaluation for a 7 year old boy with Autism and Moderate Mental Retardation (report includes IDENTIFYING INFORMATION, cognitive level of functioning,REFERRAL INFORMATION,CURRENT SITUATION: FAMILY AND DEVELOPMENTAL HISTORY,SIGNIFICANT RELATIONSHIPS/SUPPORT SYSTEMS, MEDICAL HISTORY, PSYCHIATRIC HISTORY, AGENCIES / SERVICE PROVIDERS, FUNCTIONAL STATUS, ASSESSMENT/NEED FOR SERVICES and RECOMMENDATIONS.

10am to 11amSee above (Evaluation is 2 hours long)
11am to 12pmChecked phone msgs (7 msgs left on my phone). Return three calls from new families requesting crisis assistance.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmtyped evaluation from this morning (see 9-11) as well as checked email, returned two voice mails msgs and answered face-to-face question from my boss about one consumer.
2pm to 3pmConducted Individual Therapy w/ a 31 y.o. woman w/ Moderate MR. Typed clinical note.
3pm to 4pmConducted Individual Therapy w/ a 27 y.o. male w/ Autism and depression. Typed clinical note.
4pm to 5pmAssisted consumer in applying for summer camp programs. Consumer is a 13 y.o female with Mild-to-Moderate Mental Retardation. Applied to two sleep away camps and one day camp. Submitted applications and supporting documentation.
5pm to 6pmOff at five
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Submitted resume (paper application), intial phone interview and four face-to-face interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes- intial phone interview and four face-to-face individual interviews on 4 separet days over two months.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What would you bring to this position that is unique? What are your goals for the future? Why do you want to work in social services?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes- they provide on-going training.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes – BA and an MSW (Masters of Science in Social Work) and additional licensing (LMSW).

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes – it was a good foundation but you always need to added on.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get a Masters in Social Work. Volunteer for different agencies in the social service field.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A person should be empathetic, compassionate, organized, energetic, patient and open. These “skills” are important when treating every person as an individual and addressing their unique needs.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Learn as much as you can, take advange of additional classes and find a mentor.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes- it is a good stepping stone and I am getting good experience.

What are your current career goals?
Continue to learn more in this field and eventually become a licensed clinical social worker (LCSW)

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
My career is very rewarding spiritually and emotionally. However, financially…it sucks!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Therapist8 monthsinternshipInternship at a Mental Health Clinic treating individual with dual diagnoses (mental health and chemical addiction “MICA”) providing individual therapy, assisting w/ group therapy and perform assessments.
Prior Job 2Social Work Intern8 monthsinternshipInternship at a Long term care Facility working w/ pts that have dementia and their famalies (providing individual therapy, assisting w/ group therapy and perform assessments)

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8SFSUBA in Liberal Studies and Sociology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.85Columbia UniversitySocial Work -MSW

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.